Skip to main content
formatting, clarifications
Source Link
Jawa
  • 3.7k
  • 13
  • 32
  • 38

This happened with me eithertoo and I experienced this first on merriam-webster.com :).

When trying to install QuickTime Lite with the old Firefox 3 installed, The about:pluginsthe about:plugins page shows that the QuickTime plugin is installed and the speaker on merriam-webster.com works successfully.

When installing Firefox 7, 21 or 25.1, it fails to speak and the about:pluginsabout:plugins page doesn't show the quicktimeQuickTime plugin !!

I found a solution by adding a registry key..

=============================

REGEDIT4

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\MozillaPlugins\@quicktime]
"Path"="C:\\Program Files\\QT Lite\\Plugins\\npqtplugin.dll"

=============================

It seems that Firefox 3 was loading any .dll.dll file in its plugins folder as a plugin automatically, but recent versions don'tdidn't.

I see that Flash player plugin has a registry key in this path..

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\MozillaPlugins

So I made a similar one for quicktimeQuickTime and I picked this name for the key "quicktime" .. Any name would do the job either .. and specified the mostThe more important value which is the path for plugin file which is in my case the pluginsplugins folder of QuickTime Lite.

C:\Program Files\QT Lite\Plugins\npqtplugin.dll

So, this is what I've done and it worked for me. Try Try it and tell me your feedback.

.. Ahmad Belal

This happened with me either and I experienced this first on merriam-webster.com :)

When trying to install QuickTime Lite with the old Firefox 3 installed, The about:plugins page shows that the QuickTime plugin is installed and the speaker on merriam-webster.com works successfully.

When installing Firefox 7, 21 or 25.1, it fails to speak and the about:plugins page doesn't show the quicktime plugin !!

I found a solution by adding a registry key..

=============================

REGEDIT4

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\MozillaPlugins\@quicktime]
"Path"="C:\\Program Files\\QT Lite\\Plugins\\npqtplugin.dll"

=============================

It seems that Firefox 3 was loading any .dll file in its plugins folder as a plugin automatically, but recent versions don't.

I see that Flash player plugin has a registry key in this path..

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\MozillaPlugins

So I made a similar one for quicktime and I picked this name for the key "quicktime" .. Any name would do the job either .. and specified the most important value which is the path for plugin file which is in my case the plugins folder of QuickTime Lite.

C:\Program Files\QT Lite\Plugins\npqtplugin.dll

So, this is what I've done and it worked for me. Try it and tell me your feedback.

.. Ahmad Belal

This happened with me too and I experienced this first on merriam-webster.com.

When trying to install QuickTime Lite with the old Firefox 3 installed, the about:plugins page shows that the QuickTime plugin is installed and the speaker on merriam-webster.com works successfully.

When installing Firefox 7, 21 or 25.1, it fails to speak and the about:plugins page doesn't show the QuickTime plugin!

I found a solution by adding a registry key.

REGEDIT4

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\MozillaPlugins\@quicktime]
"Path"="C:\\Program Files\\QT Lite\\Plugins\\npqtplugin.dll"

It seems that Firefox 3 was loading any .dll file in its plugins folder as a plugin automatically, but recent versions didn't.

I see that Flash player plugin has a registry key in this path.

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\MozillaPlugins

So I made a similar one for QuickTime and I picked this name for the key "quicktime". Any name would do the job. The more important value is the path for plugin file which is in my case the plugins folder of QuickTime Lite.

C:\Program Files\QT Lite\Plugins\npqtplugin.dll

So, this is what I've done and it worked for me. Try it and tell me your feedback.

Source Link

This happened with me either and I experienced this first on merriam-webster.com :)

When trying to install QuickTime Lite with the old Firefox 3 installed, The about:plugins page shows that the QuickTime plugin is installed and the speaker on merriam-webster.com works successfully.

When installing Firefox 7, 21 or 25.1, it fails to speak and the about:plugins page doesn't show the quicktime plugin !!

I found a solution by adding a registry key..

=============================

REGEDIT4

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\MozillaPlugins\@quicktime]
"Path"="C:\\Program Files\\QT Lite\\Plugins\\npqtplugin.dll"

=============================

It seems that Firefox 3 was loading any .dll file in its plugins folder as a plugin automatically, but recent versions don't.

I see that Flash player plugin has a registry key in this path..

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\MozillaPlugins

So I made a similar one for quicktime and I picked this name for the key "quicktime" .. Any name would do the job either .. and specified the most important value which is the path for plugin file which is in my case the plugins folder of QuickTime Lite.

C:\Program Files\QT Lite\Plugins\npqtplugin.dll

So, this is what I've done and it worked for me. Try it and tell me your feedback.

.. Ahmad Belal