Skip to main content
Post Made Community Wiki
Post Migrated Here from stackoverflow.com (revisions)
Source Link
Karl
Karl

What are good linux programming environments for windows?

Especially for Rails, I've found that development on Linux is generally a lot nicer than on Windows. However, I still prefer Windows as my main OS.

So far I've tried 2 options.

Dual-Booting with Ubuntu: The problem with this is I don't like having to reboot just to use Ubuntu, like if someone just asked me a quick question about a project.

Virtualizing Ubuntu with VirtualBox: This is pretty damn slow and freezes up at times, even if I'm doing basic stuff like text editing.

Basically, I'm looking for something that doesn't need to be full-featured, but where I can fetch repository packages that I need such as programming libraries. I was thinking maybe there's a Linux distro that's less demanding than Ubuntu that I can use, or some way to run a decent Linux within Windows without virtualizing. Any suggestions?