Skip to main content
Commonmark migration
Source Link

I have a Windows 8 machine that has only a single Ethernet port. It needs to use DHCP and also needs a static IP. Each IP is in a different subnet, and each serves a different, incompatible purpose.

This machine must use DHCP because the site network admin says this is the only supported way to get a 192.168.x.y address. Either his network scheme doesn't have a static IP block within that subnet, or he won't assign one of them to this machine.

I can't risk using a DHCP-assigned IP statically, betting it won't be reassigned after the lease expires. That would let me use Windows' ability to assign multiple static IPs to the interface, but this is a production server, not something I can risk getting bounced off the network hours or days later.

I realize that some DHCP servers let you set up static MAC to IP assignments, so that my machine's DHCP IP is never reassigned, but since I know of no DHCP server that will issue two different IP addresses, each in a different subnet, that's no help here. (And if there is such a DHCP server, my client probably doesn't use it and wouldn't change over to it if I asked.)

Since I can't do this entirely with DHCP, I need a static IP because this machine also acts as a server to a 10.x.y.z subnet. The local network admins have given me a static IP in that scheme, but it's insufficient because I also need to talk to the 192.168.x.y side of the network.

I'm aware of a similar question here. I'm asking again because:

  1. That other question was posed when Windows 7 was current. Perhaps Microsoft used those 2+ years to fix this weakness in the Windows 8 network stack implementation?

    That other question was posed when Windows 7 was current. Perhaps Microsoft used those 2+ years to fix this weakness in the Windows 8 network stack implementation?

    (Yes, weakness: Linux allows a network interface with both a DHCP and a static IP. There's nothing about TCP/IP that prevents Microsoft from allowing this. They just have to write the code to allow it.)

  2. It seems the network configuration GUI in Windows 8 has the same limitation as Windows 7's, but perhaps there is some low-level hack that will let us assign a static IP alias to the DHCP interface?

(Yes, weakness: Linux allows a network interface with both a DHCP and a static IP. There's nothing about TCP/IP that prevents Microsoft from allowing this. They just have to write the code to allow it.)

  1. It seems the network configuration GUI in Windows 8 has the same limitation as Windows 7's, but perhaps there is some low-level hack that will let us assign a static IP alias to the DHCP interface?

I have a Windows 8 machine that has only a single Ethernet port. It needs to use DHCP and also needs a static IP. Each IP is in a different subnet, and each serves a different, incompatible purpose.

This machine must use DHCP because the site network admin says this is the only supported way to get a 192.168.x.y address. Either his network scheme doesn't have a static IP block within that subnet, or he won't assign one of them to this machine.

I can't risk using a DHCP-assigned IP statically, betting it won't be reassigned after the lease expires. That would let me use Windows' ability to assign multiple static IPs to the interface, but this is a production server, not something I can risk getting bounced off the network hours or days later.

I realize that some DHCP servers let you set up static MAC to IP assignments, so that my machine's DHCP IP is never reassigned, but since I know of no DHCP server that will issue two different IP addresses, each in a different subnet, that's no help here. (And if there is such a DHCP server, my client probably doesn't use it and wouldn't change over to it if I asked.)

Since I can't do this entirely with DHCP, I need a static IP because this machine also acts as a server to a 10.x.y.z subnet. The local network admins have given me a static IP in that scheme, but it's insufficient because I also need to talk to the 192.168.x.y side of the network.

I'm aware of a similar question here. I'm asking again because:

  1. That other question was posed when Windows 7 was current. Perhaps Microsoft used those 2+ years to fix this weakness in the Windows 8 network stack implementation?

(Yes, weakness: Linux allows a network interface with both a DHCP and a static IP. There's nothing about TCP/IP that prevents Microsoft from allowing this. They just have to write the code to allow it.)

  1. It seems the network configuration GUI in Windows 8 has the same limitation as Windows 7's, but perhaps there is some low-level hack that will let us assign a static IP alias to the DHCP interface?

I have a Windows 8 machine that has only a single Ethernet port. It needs to use DHCP and also needs a static IP. Each IP is in a different subnet, and each serves a different, incompatible purpose.

This machine must use DHCP because the site network admin says this is the only supported way to get a 192.168.x.y address. Either his network scheme doesn't have a static IP block within that subnet, or he won't assign one of them to this machine.

I can't risk using a DHCP-assigned IP statically, betting it won't be reassigned after the lease expires. That would let me use Windows' ability to assign multiple static IPs to the interface, but this is a production server, not something I can risk getting bounced off the network hours or days later.

I realize that some DHCP servers let you set up static MAC to IP assignments, so that my machine's DHCP IP is never reassigned, but since I know of no DHCP server that will issue two different IP addresses, each in a different subnet, that's no help here. (And if there is such a DHCP server, my client probably doesn't use it and wouldn't change over to it if I asked.)

Since I can't do this entirely with DHCP, I need a static IP because this machine also acts as a server to a 10.x.y.z subnet. The local network admins have given me a static IP in that scheme, but it's insufficient because I also need to talk to the 192.168.x.y side of the network.

I'm aware of a similar question here. I'm asking again because:

  1. That other question was posed when Windows 7 was current. Perhaps Microsoft used those 2+ years to fix this weakness in the Windows 8 network stack implementation?

    (Yes, weakness: Linux allows a network interface with both a DHCP and a static IP. There's nothing about TCP/IP that prevents Microsoft from allowing this. They just have to write the code to allow it.)

  2. It seems the network configuration GUI in Windows 8 has the same limitation as Windows 7's, but perhaps there is some low-level hack that will let us assign a static IP alias to the DHCP interface?

generalized the question title, since there are high-voted answers which only work for Windows 10 and above
Link
Albin
  • 10.9k
  • 16
  • 65
  • 103

Add a static IP alias to a DHCP interface on Windows 8 (and above)

generalized the question title, since there are high-voted answers which only work for Windows 10 and above
Link

Add a static IP alias to a DHCP interface on Windows 8

part of my explanation of the problem is wrong, and it complicates the process of coming up with a correct answer, so I clarified that part of the question
Source Link
Warren Young
  • 3.8k
  • 3
  • 20
  • 28
Loading
replaced http://superuser.com/ with https://superuser.com/
Source Link
Loading
Source Link
Warren Young
  • 3.8k
  • 3
  • 20
  • 28
Loading