Skip to main content
10 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Nov 12, 2014 at 0:05 comment added BrainSlugs83 @DarkWanderer is correct here. This doesn't cut it, it only changes the per-user lock screen, not the system one.
Nov 19, 2013 at 12:00 comment added Mark perhaps - will experiment :)
Nov 19, 2013 at 11:57 comment added DarkWanderer I've got a thought, though - it may be actual only for computers with more than one user. I have 2 or more user accounts on every computer - maybe if there's one, it doesn't show the system lock screen, and shows that of the only user. That's why you're not able to reproduce it.
Nov 19, 2013 at 11:56 comment added DarkWanderer Yes, because Windows 8 does a hybrid shutdown (half-shutdown, half-hibernate) :) Correspondingly it remembers the last user logged on, and when you power up again, you have the lock screen of the last user. However, if you experience a BSOD (which results in "real" boot) or do a logout, you see the "system" lock screen.
Nov 19, 2013 at 11:53 comment added Mark To make sure I'm not loosing the plot, I have just done a full shut down and restarted my own PC. The lock screen that appeared is the one I set using my original answer. Sorry, but cant see how I help you further :/
Nov 19, 2013 at 11:38 comment added DarkWanderer The settings you're mentioning change the user's personal lock screen, which appears if you lock your computer.
Nov 19, 2013 at 11:35 comment added DarkWanderer No, not the windows logo. When you boot up the computer, there's a default lock screen, which disappears when pressing a key and shows the list of users. The picture and theme for it are set up when installing windows. I want to change it now.
Nov 19, 2013 at 11:07 comment added Mark Every windows 8 computer I have worked on has the boot screen and goes immediately to the lock screen. Do you mean then that you are wanting to change the windows logo while the computer is booting up? If so, I don't know if that's possible. If not, I don't follow what you mean by 'shown on the screen before any user logs in. (Note: not the user lock screen, but the one which appears upon clean reboot - systemwide)'As far as general themes go, they are accessed the same way as always - desktop, right click menu, personalise.
Nov 19, 2013 at 7:08 comment added DarkWanderer Doesn't cut it. This changes user's lock screen, my question is about systemwide one.
Nov 18, 2013 at 19:35 history answered Mark CC BY-SA 3.0