Skip to main content

Timeline for MP3 IDv3 Tagger [duplicate]

Current License: CC BY-SA 3.0

14 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Nov 19, 2013 at 18:04 history closed Ƭᴇcʜιᴇ007
Dave M
Mokubai
Tog
Carl B
Duplicate of Auto-tagging MP3s
Nov 19, 2013 at 5:27 comment added PunkIsDaFunk None of these solutions were able to resolve my issues, i just physically went through each file and rewrote the data myself, including the album art. I was not able to find a suitable program to do it for me. I tested one file through each of the ones I had listed before again today, and almost all of the programs (even with some of the ID3 information already in the file) completely rewrote the tag with incorrect album, artist and title information. I will keep watching this thread in hopes that maybe someone will be able to come up with a windows based solution...here's to hoping.
Nov 18, 2013 at 18:28 comment added nixda @BradJTrammell I had the same struggle and I know most of these programs. Surprisingly the best identifying algorithm I found, was an android app (Sound Search for Google Play). Maybe there are PC alternatives which work the same way
Nov 18, 2013 at 17:42 comment added PunkIsDaFunk I would like to see the program get the correct information, i honestly don't even care if album art information is not an option, i just want the CORRECT album information, without having to worry that the program is going to add compilations, to songs that were pulled from an artists album.
Nov 18, 2013 at 17:39 comment added PunkIsDaFunk "Some of these programs will get the artist and title correct, but are way off on other things like year, lyrics, composer, etc." I stated above why they're not working for me. I've never had a good experience with any of these, like I said, rather than getting actual album names, they'll use Compilations, even when the songs are pulled directly off the artists album.
Nov 18, 2013 at 17:34 comment added Rajib @ Brad J Trammell You say it hasn't worked for you. I think you should clarify your exact requirement in terms of how the program should work. Especially because my experience with at least 2 programs you mention has been extremely good. They fetch the data from cddb/other, so getting the data wrong is extremely unlikely.
S Nov 18, 2013 at 17:33 review First posts
Nov 18, 2013 at 17:46
S Nov 18, 2013 at 17:33 review Close votes
Nov 19, 2013 at 18:04
Nov 18, 2013 at 17:22 comment added PunkIsDaFunk I don't understand how this is not a different question, for every 100 users that the answer you say this is a dup to may solve, there are 10 or 20 who does not. i will no longer be using this website, anytime i post something specialized it's always compared to a generic answer that does not resolve my issue.
Nov 18, 2013 at 17:20 comment added Ƭᴇcʜιᴇ007 Just because the answer(s) aren't what you need, doesn't make it a different question. Besides, you are not going to find a program that's 100% accurate for 100% of files, as the DBs out there are not 100% accurate, plus there's compilations, release dates for re-releases, etc., etc. Getting perfect metadata is going to take some time and effort. Waiting until you had 80K files to do was a mistake. ;)
Nov 18, 2013 at 17:18 comment added PunkIsDaFunk i would not call this a product request, i'm merely asking if other users have had better luck with what I've had no luck with.
Nov 18, 2013 at 17:18 comment added PunkIsDaFunk I wouldn't say this is a dup if i've tried the program they marked as the answer and it didn't work for me.
Nov 18, 2013 at 17:17 comment added Ƭᴇcʜιᴇ007 Additionally, product requests are considered off-topic or SU.
Nov 18, 2013 at 17:15 history asked PunkIsDaFunk CC BY-SA 3.0