Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

3
  • "Your problem is more at night you say, so it's the brightness of the screen really. Rather than contrast." Yes, and what a biggest problem is, I got used to work with lights off in the room. But could you tell, I have brightness set on 90 and contrast 80, down to what level you would decrease, what should be higher and what lower (so that I can after adjust to my preferences), if I buy and low-wattage desk lamp ? I have heard stories, that low brightness or contrast, also straining eyes..
    – Johannes
    Commented Nov 13, 2013 at 11:17
  • @Johannes well, contrast can mean contrast in foreground and background colors, like whether it's white text on black background or black text on white background. I think that's what I had in mind when I said it's the brightness rather than the contrast. As for the monitor settings for brightness and contrast.. yeah i'd turn down contrast if it seems to reduce brightness. My laptop only has a brightness option.. And it doesn't go dark enough, that is why I got the vinyl sheet.
    – barlop
    Commented Nov 13, 2013 at 12:17
  • @Johannes If you feel your eyes strain too much to read it, then turn the brightness up a bit on the screen, if it's then too much brightness, then turn the brightness in the room up. That is what i've done just now.. I have a light in my room with a thing that I turn to adjust the light. You can get an electrician to change your light switch to one of those turning ones. Or just turn the lights on at night. No need necessarily to sit in the dark with a desk lamp. I turn the light control in my room.
    – barlop
    Commented Nov 13, 2013 at 12:19