Skip to main content
The 2024 Developer Survey results are live! See the results
Tweeted twitter.com/#!/super_user/status/397494575860039680
Fixed punctuation.
Source Link

I'm looking for a service on the internet allowing me to redirect TCP connections.

My companiescompany's firewall is very strict and allows only HTTP (through a transparent proxy) or SSL on only port 443. I managed to successfully build a tunnel by running stunnel on port 443 at home. The problem is: only one service can run on a port at a time! For example I can't run ownCloud and stunnel at the same time. I know I could tunnel SSH in stunnel and tunnel everything through SSH, but it's getting a pain (and multiple tunnels into each other).

If I would run several hosts on the internet (and not my 1 home IP address) I would simply configure IPTABLES to forward the SSL connection to my home IP/any port, and returning packets the other way around. This way I am end-to-end encrypted and simply multiplex services by IP numbers instead of port numbers.

I therefore have two questions:

  • Is this possible
  • Does it exist

I'm looking for a service on the internet allowing me to redirect TCP connections.

My companies firewall is very strict and allows only HTTP (through a transparent proxy) or SSL on only port 443. I managed to successfully build a tunnel by running stunnel on port 443 at home. The problem is: only one service can run on a port at a time! For example I can't run ownCloud and stunnel at the same time. I know I could tunnel SSH in stunnel and tunnel everything through SSH, but it's getting a pain (and multiple tunnels into each other).

If I would run several hosts on the internet (and not my 1 home IP address) I would simply configure IPTABLES to forward the SSL connection to my home IP/any port, and returning packets the other way around. This way I am end-to-end encrypted and simply multiplex services by IP numbers instead of port numbers.

I therefore have two questions:

  • Is this possible
  • Does it exist

I'm looking for a service on the internet allowing me to redirect TCP connections.

My company's firewall is very strict and allows only HTTP (through a transparent proxy) or SSL on only port 443. I managed to successfully build a tunnel by running stunnel on port 443 at home. The problem is: only one service can run on a port at a time! For example I can't run ownCloud and stunnel at the same time. I know I could tunnel SSH in stunnel and tunnel everything through SSH, but it's getting a pain (and multiple tunnels into each other).

If I would run several hosts on the internet (and not my 1 home IP address) I would simply configure IPTABLES to forward the SSL connection to my home IP/any port, and returning packets the other way around. This way I am end-to-end encrypted and simply multiplex services by IP numbers instead of port numbers.

I therefore have two questions:

  • Is this possible
  • Does it exist

Sorry if this is maybe a dumb question, but I'm looking for a (payed?) service inon the internet allowing me to redirect tcpTCP connections.

My problem: my company'scompanies firewall is very strict and allows only HTTP (through a transparent proxy) or SSL on only port 443. I managed to successfully build a tunnel by running 'stunnel'stunnel on port 443 at home. The problem is: only one service can run on a port at a time! For example notI can't run ownCloud and stunnel at the same time. I know I could tunnel SSH in stunnel and tunnel everything through SSH, but it's getting a pain (and multiple tunnels into each other).

If I would run several hosts on the internet (and not my 1 home IP address) I would simply configure IPTABLES to forward the SSL connection to my home IP/any port, and returning packets of course the other way around. This way I am end-to-end encrypted and simply multiplex services by IP numbers instead of port numbers.

So one question is if such thing would work in theory at all and the second if such thing exists in the wild (I guess unlikely).I therefore have two questions:

  • Is this possible
  • Does it exist

Sorry if this is maybe a dumb question, but I'm looking for a (payed?) service in the internet allowing me to redirect tcp connections.

My problem: my company's firewall is very strict and allows only HTTP (through a transparent proxy) or SSL on only port 443. I managed to successfully build a tunnel by running 'stunnel' on port 443 at home. The problem is: only one service can run on a port at a time! For example not ownCloud and stunnel at the same time. I know I could tunnel SSH in stunnel and tunnel everything through SSH, but it's getting a pain (and multiple tunnels into each other).

If I would run several hosts on the internet (and not my 1 home IP address) I would simply configure IPTABLES to forward the SSL connection to my home IP/any port, and returning packets of course the other way around. This way I am end-to-end encrypted and simply multiplex services by IP numbers instead of port numbers.

So one question is if such thing would work in theory at all and the second if such thing exists in the wild (I guess unlikely).

I'm looking for a service on the internet allowing me to redirect TCP connections.

My companies firewall is very strict and allows only HTTP (through a transparent proxy) or SSL on only port 443. I managed to successfully build a tunnel by running stunnel on port 443 at home. The problem is: only one service can run on a port at a time! For example I can't run ownCloud and stunnel at the same time. I know I could tunnel SSH in stunnel and tunnel everything through SSH, but it's getting a pain (and multiple tunnels into each other).

If I would run several hosts on the internet (and not my 1 home IP address) I would simply configure IPTABLES to forward the SSL connection to my home IP/any port, and returning packets the other way around. This way I am end-to-end encrypted and simply multiplex services by IP numbers instead of port numbers.

I therefore have two questions:

  • Is this possible
  • Does it exist
Source Link
Borph
  • 181
  • 3

Is there such thing like a port forwarding service out in the internet?

Sorry if this is maybe a dumb question, but I'm looking for a (payed?) service in the internet allowing me to redirect tcp connections.

My problem: my company's firewall is very strict and allows only HTTP (through a transparent proxy) or SSL on only port 443. I managed to successfully build a tunnel by running 'stunnel' on port 443 at home. The problem is: only one service can run on a port at a time! For example not ownCloud and stunnel at the same time. I know I could tunnel SSH in stunnel and tunnel everything through SSH, but it's getting a pain (and multiple tunnels into each other).

If I would run several hosts on the internet (and not my 1 home IP address) I would simply configure IPTABLES to forward the SSL connection to my home IP/any port, and returning packets of course the other way around. This way I am end-to-end encrypted and simply multiplex services by IP numbers instead of port numbers.

So one question is if such thing would work in theory at all and the second if such thing exists in the wild (I guess unlikely).