Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

3
  • This can hardly be an issue. Do you transfer your data using smb right? I don't think this happens for everybody. I suggest using some other network monitoring tool to verify the speed while opening network monitor...
    – Vitas
    Commented Mar 17, 2014 at 6:50
  • @Vitas I'm not sure if you're responding to me or to the OP. However, I still stand firm that this is probably a slight dip in performance from CPU overhead being used to display the updated info. Commented Mar 17, 2014 at 21:37
  • KronoS that would be a case only if the CPU was at 100% from some reason. Transfering data over smb should not be CPU intensive unless there is some strange problem. It reminds me the old times when some hard drives had problem with DMA mode and worked only in PIO. It used a lot of CPU when doing I/O operations...
    – Vitas
    Commented Mar 18, 2014 at 12:23