Skip to main content
Add Vi tag
Source Link
ᔕᖺᘎᕊ
  • 6.3k
  • 4
  • 35
  • 45

For a few years now at work I have been using the GNOME Terminal, and have gotten very used to that. I usually organize my work by categorizing each task on its own virtual desktop, then within each virtual desktop I have multiple Gnome Terminals each with multiple terminal tabs, most of which have a file open for editing.

This setup really makes it hard for me to reboot, and when I do, its a real pain trying to save what files I had opened and where. I have looked further into the GNOME Terminal, as well as Konsole, but as far as I can tell, neither of these terminal programs can do what I want. I want to be able to save a session in either GNOME or Konsole, but when I reload that session, the files that were previously open in VI, will be open in VI again. All they seem to do now, is just reload the directory that I was in, but not open the file in VI.

Is there a program that is capable of doing this, or perhaps a setting I am missing in either GNOME or Konsole that will allow for automatic reopening of files I had open in VI before closing the session?

Thanks!

For a few years now at work I have been using the GNOME Terminal, and have gotten very used to that. I usually organize my work by categorizing each task on its own virtual desktop, then within each virtual desktop I have multiple Gnome Terminals each with multiple terminal tabs, most of which have a file open for editing.

This setup really makes it hard for me to reboot, and when I do, its a real pain trying to save what files I had opened and where. I have looked further into the GNOME Terminal, as well as Konsole, but as far as I can tell, neither of these terminal programs can do what I want. I want to be able to save a session in either GNOME or Konsole, but when I reload that session, the files that were previously open in VI, will be open in VI again. All they seem to do now, is just reload the directory that I was in, but not open the file in VI.

Is there a program that is capable of doing this, or perhaps a setting I am missing in either GNOME or Konsole that will allow for automatic reopening of files I had open in VI before closing the session?

Thanks!

For a few years now at work I have been using the GNOME Terminal, and have gotten very used to that. I usually organize my work by categorizing each task on its own virtual desktop, then within each virtual desktop I have multiple Gnome Terminals each with multiple terminal tabs, most of which have a file open for editing.

This setup really makes it hard for me to reboot, and when I do, its a real pain trying to save what files I had opened and where. I have looked further into the GNOME Terminal, as well as Konsole, but as far as I can tell, neither of these terminal programs can do what I want. I want to be able to save a session in either GNOME or Konsole, but when I reload that session, the files that were previously open in VI, will be open in VI again. All they seem to do now, is just reload the directory that I was in, but not open the file in VI.

Is there a program that is capable of doing this, or perhaps a setting I am missing in either GNOME or Konsole that will allow for automatic reopening of files I had open in VI before closing the session?

Source Link
halexh
  • 113
  • 4

Terminal Program To Save VI State

For a few years now at work I have been using the GNOME Terminal, and have gotten very used to that. I usually organize my work by categorizing each task on its own virtual desktop, then within each virtual desktop I have multiple Gnome Terminals each with multiple terminal tabs, most of which have a file open for editing.

This setup really makes it hard for me to reboot, and when I do, its a real pain trying to save what files I had opened and where. I have looked further into the GNOME Terminal, as well as Konsole, but as far as I can tell, neither of these terminal programs can do what I want. I want to be able to save a session in either GNOME or Konsole, but when I reload that session, the files that were previously open in VI, will be open in VI again. All they seem to do now, is just reload the directory that I was in, but not open the file in VI.

Is there a program that is capable of doing this, or perhaps a setting I am missing in either GNOME or Konsole that will allow for automatic reopening of files I had open in VI before closing the session?

Thanks!