Skip to main content

I can connect to my private work network using putty andPutty with the following setting: hostname: login.abc.com , portsettings:5022, SSH

Forwarded Ports: D8888

  • Hostname: login.example.com
  • Port: 502
  • SSH Forwarded Ports: D8888

This opens an SSH socks proxy which allows me to access internal servers. I again use puttyPutty to connect to the internal ubuntuUbuntu server using the above as SOCKSsocks proxy above.

Now I want to get the server GUI using VNC  , but I am unable to connect with the above socks proxy. I tried forwarding the ports  , but since I am newbie to this, I may have done it incorrectly ,. So how can I run VNC from my windowsWindows machine to access the remote VNC server?

This article did not help me to connect using vncserver, rdp too is notvncserver. RDP isn't working, either. The vncVNC session is on a different server accessible only from login.abc.comlogin.example.com as a socks proxy.

Note: I am able to sshSSH to the internal servers using the above configuration usingabove with the login.abc.comlogin.example.com as socks proxy in PUTTYPutty.

I can connect to my private work network using putty and following setting: hostname: login.abc.com , port:5022, SSH

Forwarded Ports: D8888

This opens an SSH socks proxy which allows me to access internal servers. I again use putty to connect to the internal ubuntu server using the above as SOCKS proxy.

Now I want to get the server GUI using VNC  , but I am unable to connect with the above socks proxy. I tried forwarding the ports  , but since I am newbie to this I may have done it incorrectly , So how can I run VNC from my windows machine to access the remote VNC server?

This article did not help me to connect using vncserver, rdp too is not working. The vnc session is on a different server accessible only from login.abc.com as a socks proxy.

Note: I am able to ssh the internal servers using the above configuration using the login.abc.com as socks proxy in PUTTY.

I can connect to my private work network using Putty with the following settings:

  • Hostname: login.example.com
  • Port: 502
  • SSH Forwarded Ports: D8888

This opens an SSH socks proxy which allows me to access internal servers. I again use Putty to connect to the internal Ubuntu server using the socks proxy above.

Now I want to get the server GUI using VNC, but I am unable to connect with the socks proxy. I tried forwarding the ports, but since I am newbie to this, I may have done it incorrectly. So how can I run VNC from my Windows machine to access the remote VNC server?

This article did not help me to connect using vncserver. RDP isn't working, either. The VNC session is on a different server accessible only from login.example.com as a socks proxy.

Note: I am able to SSH to the internal servers using the configuration above with the login.example.com as socks proxy in Putty.

added 42 characters in body
Source Link
suuser
  • 157
  • 1
  • 3
  • 13

I can connect to my private work network using putty and following setting: hostname: login.abc.com , port:5022, SSH

Forwarded Ports: D8888

This opens an SSH socks proxy which allows me to access internal servers. I again use putty to connect to the internal ubuntu server using the above as SOCKS proxy.

Now I want to get the server GUI using VNC , but I am unable to connect with the above socks proxy. I tried forwarding the ports , but since I am newbie to this I may have done it incorrectly , So how can I run VNC from my windows machine to access the remote VNC server?

This article did not help me to connect using vncserver, rdp too is not working. The vnc session is on a different server accessible only from login.abc.com as a socks proxy.

Note: I am able to ssh the internal servers using the above configuration using the login.abc.com as socks proxy in PUTTY.

I can connect to my private work network using putty and following setting: hostname: login.abc.com , port:5022, SSH

Forwarded Ports: D8888

This opens an SSH socks proxy which allows me to access internal servers. I again use putty to connect to the internal ubuntu server using the above as SOCKS proxy.

Now I want to get the server GUI using VNC , but I am unable to connect with the above socks proxy. I tried forwarding the ports , but since I am newbie to this I may have done it incorrectly , So how can I run VNC from my windows machine to access the remote VNC server?

This article did not help me to connect

I can connect to my private work network using putty and following setting: hostname: login.abc.com , port:5022, SSH

Forwarded Ports: D8888

This opens an SSH socks proxy which allows me to access internal servers. I again use putty to connect to the internal ubuntu server using the above as SOCKS proxy.

Now I want to get the server GUI using VNC , but I am unable to connect with the above socks proxy. I tried forwarding the ports , but since I am newbie to this I may have done it incorrectly , So how can I run VNC from my windows machine to access the remote VNC server?

This article did not help me to connect using vncserver, rdp too is not working. The vnc session is on a different server accessible only from login.abc.com as a socks proxy.

Note: I am able to ssh the internal servers using the above configuration using the login.abc.com as socks proxy in PUTTY.

Source Link
suuser
  • 157
  • 1
  • 3
  • 13

VNC via socks SSH proxy tunnel

I can connect to my private work network using putty and following setting: hostname: login.abc.com , port:5022, SSH

Forwarded Ports: D8888

This opens an SSH socks proxy which allows me to access internal servers. I again use putty to connect to the internal ubuntu server using the above as SOCKS proxy.

Now I want to get the server GUI using VNC , but I am unable to connect with the above socks proxy. I tried forwarding the ports , but since I am newbie to this I may have done it incorrectly , So how can I run VNC from my windows machine to access the remote VNC server?

This article did not help me to connect