Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

4
  • 1
    I was having trouble getting #2 to stick, but it seemed to work if I did it while no image was opened.
    – fmoo
    Commented Sep 8, 2016 at 17:13
  • 2
    +1 Thanks, this helped! Somehow I accidently made my image take up the whole screen, and all the side toolboxes docked disappeared. Your technique helped, but any idea what key combination caused the enlargement accompanied by loss of toolboxes? thanks! Commented Feb 2, 2018 at 15:04
  • 1
    Add a similar issue on the Windows version of GIMP, I wasn't able to bring back many of the tool windows. I suspect that for some reason some window size might have been save with zero or invalid size. Resetting all preferences worked for me.
    – Rastikan
    Commented May 12, 2020 at 22:05
  • 2
    Nice answer. I have to nominate as the worst user interface design ever.
    – user193478
    Commented Apr 21, 2021 at 14:37