Skip to main content
added image
Source Link
mydoghasworms
  • 882
  • 3
  • 8
  • 20

I have an HP Probook 4740s running windows 7 Professional which came with 4GB of RAM.

I just upgraded the RAM by adding another 8GB in the free slot.

However, Windows now takes a lot longer to start up (feels like about 3 times or more).

In addition, applications seem to respond more sluggishly.

Windows (in the My Computer properties) is reporting 12GB of RAM.

I didn't expect that the laptop would be faster, only to be able to run more programs comfortably without swapping slowing it down when switching between them (as I was maxing out the available memory already). I did not expect Windows to perform worse.

Can you think of any reasons why it could hamper performance?

enter image description here

I have an HP Probook 4740s running windows 7 Professional which came with 4GB of RAM.

I just upgraded the RAM by adding another 8GB in the free slot.

However, Windows now takes a lot longer to start up (feels like about 3 times or more).

In addition, applications seem to respond more sluggishly.

Windows (in the My Computer properties) is reporting 12GB of RAM.

I didn't expect that the laptop would be faster, only to be able to run more programs comfortably without swapping slowing it down when switching between them (as I was maxing out the available memory already). I did not expect Windows to perform worse.

Can you think of any reasons why it could hamper performance?

I have an HP Probook 4740s running windows 7 Professional which came with 4GB of RAM.

I just upgraded the RAM by adding another 8GB in the free slot.

However, Windows now takes a lot longer to start up (feels like about 3 times or more).

In addition, applications seem to respond more sluggishly.

Windows (in the My Computer properties) is reporting 12GB of RAM.

I didn't expect that the laptop would be faster, only to be able to run more programs comfortably without swapping slowing it down when switching between them (as I was maxing out the available memory already). I did not expect Windows to perform worse.

Can you think of any reasons why it could hamper performance?

enter image description here

added 69 characters in body
Source Link
mydoghasworms
  • 882
  • 3
  • 8
  • 20

I have an HP Probook 4740s running windows 7 Professional which came with 4GB of RAM.

I just upgraded the RAM by adding another 8GB in the free slot.

However, Windows now takes a lot longer to start up (feels like about 3 times or more).

In addition, applications seem to respond more sluggishly.

Windows (in the My Computer properties) is reporting 12GB of RAM.

I didn't expect that the laptop would be faster, only to be able to run more programs comfortably without swapping slowing it down when switching between them (as I was maxing out the available memory already). I did not expect Windows to perform worse.

Can you think of any reasons why it could hamper performance?

I have an HP Probook 4740s running windows 7 Professional which came with 4GB of RAM.

I just upgraded the RAM by adding another 8GB in the free slot.

However, Windows now takes a lot longer to start up (feels like about 3 times or more).

In addition, applications seem to respond more sluggishly.

I didn't expect that the laptop would be faster, only to be able to run more programs comfortably without swapping slowing it down when switching between them (as I was maxing out the available memory already). I did not expect Windows to perform worse.

Can you think of any reasons why it could hamper performance?

I have an HP Probook 4740s running windows 7 Professional which came with 4GB of RAM.

I just upgraded the RAM by adding another 8GB in the free slot.

However, Windows now takes a lot longer to start up (feels like about 3 times or more).

In addition, applications seem to respond more sluggishly.

Windows (in the My Computer properties) is reporting 12GB of RAM.

I didn't expect that the laptop would be faster, only to be able to run more programs comfortably without swapping slowing it down when switching between them (as I was maxing out the available memory already). I did not expect Windows to perform worse.

Can you think of any reasons why it could hamper performance?

Source Link
mydoghasworms
  • 882
  • 3
  • 8
  • 20

Installing extra memory seems to make Windows more sluggish

I have an HP Probook 4740s running windows 7 Professional which came with 4GB of RAM.

I just upgraded the RAM by adding another 8GB in the free slot.

However, Windows now takes a lot longer to start up (feels like about 3 times or more).

In addition, applications seem to respond more sluggishly.

I didn't expect that the laptop would be faster, only to be able to run more programs comfortably without swapping slowing it down when switching between them (as I was maxing out the available memory already). I did not expect Windows to perform worse.

Can you think of any reasons why it could hamper performance?