Skip to main content
spelling
Source Link
wikiti
  • 628
  • 1
  • 6
  • 12

Old post, but I found this searching for how to reset the BIOS password on a Satellite Pro U400 so in case it helps anyone else out...

I googled for what the CMOS battery looked like and then for a pic of the motherboard, found what appeared to be the battery, lo and behold it was just off the side of the access panel for the RAM etc, disconnected the battery, powered the laptop up, turned it off, reconnected the battery and no more BIOS password. Picture of the connector below, that's the RAM just below it which I removed before messing with the batteryU400 CMOS battery

Obviously you want to be careful yaddayadda, but this laptop was going to be scrapped if I couldn't fitfix it so pft :)

Old post, but I found this searching for how to reset the BIOS password on a Satellite Pro U400 so in case it helps anyone else out...

I googled for what the CMOS battery looked like and then for a pic of the motherboard, found what appeared to be the battery, lo and behold it was just off the side of the access panel for the RAM etc, disconnected the battery, powered the laptop up, turned it off, reconnected the battery and no more BIOS password. Picture of the connector below, that's the RAM just below it which I removed before messing with the batteryU400 CMOS battery

Obviously you want to be careful yaddayadda, but this laptop was going to be scrapped if I couldn't fit it so pft :)

Old post, but I found this searching for how to reset the BIOS password on a Satellite Pro U400 so in case it helps anyone else out...

I googled for what the CMOS battery looked like and then for a pic of the motherboard, found what appeared to be the battery, lo and behold it was just off the side of the access panel for the RAM etc, disconnected the battery, powered the laptop up, turned it off, reconnected the battery and no more BIOS password. Picture of the connector below, that's the RAM just below it which I removed before messing with the batteryU400 CMOS battery

Obviously you want to be careful yaddayadda, but this laptop was going to be scrapped if I couldn't fix it so pft :)

Source Link
wikiti
  • 628
  • 1
  • 6
  • 12

Old post, but I found this searching for how to reset the BIOS password on a Satellite Pro U400 so in case it helps anyone else out...

I googled for what the CMOS battery looked like and then for a pic of the motherboard, found what appeared to be the battery, lo and behold it was just off the side of the access panel for the RAM etc, disconnected the battery, powered the laptop up, turned it off, reconnected the battery and no more BIOS password. Picture of the connector below, that's the RAM just below it which I removed before messing with the batteryU400 CMOS battery

Obviously you want to be careful yaddayadda, but this laptop was going to be scrapped if I couldn't fit it so pft :)