Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

2
  • I have effectively done the cleanest of possible uninstalls already. As part of my attempts to fix this I installed iTunes on a completely clean install of the OS. In fact I did it with two different OSes, XP and OS X. So the problem really isn't with my install of iTunes, the problem is on the phone. As you say, no doubt completely wiping the phone and starting from scratch would all most certainly fix it. But that complete wipe and manual reinstall of 60+ apps, plus settings, plus data (some of which cannot kept) is what I am trying to avoid. Commented Nov 1, 2009 at 11:14
  • If you use a lot of jailbroken applications, you can completely back them all up to your RockID through "Rock", another 3rd party Installer. This saved me loads of time when I upgraded from 3.0 to 3.1.2.
    – eqzx
    Commented Nov 2, 2009 at 4:57