Skip to main content
edited title
Link
einpoklum
  • 9.9k
  • 27
  • 103
  • 175

How tocan I reduce the time Windows takes to report a password is wrong?

Removed irrelevant chatter
Source Link
nhinkle
  • 37.5k
  • 36
  • 141
  • 178

I use Windows 7 on a Lenovo laptop. Actually my system setup is a bit convoluted with some evil corporate spyware (besides Windows itself that is), but never mind that.

When I enter a wrong password, either when I'm connected to our network or when disconnected, it takes quite a lot of time for Windows to report the password is wrong. And by 'a long time' I mean as much as 20-30 seconds sometimes. Now, even, say, 5 is a lot, I would say - so whatever I can do to reduce this, I want to do (including any artificial security-related delay for incorrect passwords).

I use Windows 7 on a Lenovo laptop. Actually my system setup is a bit convoluted with some evil corporate spyware (besides Windows itself that is), but never mind that.

When I enter a wrong password, either when I'm connected to our network or when disconnected, it takes quite a lot of time for Windows to report the password is wrong. And by 'a long time' I mean as much as 20-30 seconds sometimes. Now, even, say, 5 is a lot, I would say - so whatever I can do to reduce this, I want to do (including any artificial security-related delay for incorrect passwords).

I use Windows 7 on a Lenovo laptop. When I enter a wrong password, either when I'm connected to our network or when disconnected, it takes quite a lot of time for Windows to report the password is wrong. And by 'a long time' I mean as much as 20-30 seconds sometimes. Now, even, say, 5 is a lot, I would say - so whatever I can do to reduce this, I want to do (including any artificial security-related delay for incorrect passwords).

Source Link
einpoklum
  • 9.9k
  • 27
  • 103
  • 175

How to reduce the time Windows takes to report a password is wrong?

I use Windows 7 on a Lenovo laptop. Actually my system setup is a bit convoluted with some evil corporate spyware (besides Windows itself that is), but never mind that.

When I enter a wrong password, either when I'm connected to our network or when disconnected, it takes quite a lot of time for Windows to report the password is wrong. And by 'a long time' I mean as much as 20-30 seconds sometimes. Now, even, say, 5 is a lot, I would say - so whatever I can do to reduce this, I want to do (including any artificial security-related delay for incorrect passwords).