Skip to main content
11 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Aug 23, 2013 at 7:03 comment added slhck @ArtOfWarfare If you want to prove it you can simply create two files with mp2 and mp3 chosen as ffmpeg encoder, then see what (for example) MediaInfo shows, namely the correct layer.
Aug 22, 2013 at 14:33 comment added ArtOfWarfare @slhck - I figure someone aught to fill something out at bugreporter.apple.com as a QuickTime bug, but I don't know how to prove in the description that the bug is with QuickTime. Could you do it or should I just report it without any proof (I find Apple tends to reject bug reports unless you get very detailed.)
Aug 22, 2013 at 14:25 comment added slhck @ArtOfWarfare I checked, it is definitely QuickTime that reports it wrong. ffmpeg creates the right codecs and metadata.
Aug 22, 2013 at 14:15 comment added ArtOfWarfare @slhck - Is it not possible that the bug is with ffmpeg and not QuickTime? How could one definitively check?
Aug 21, 2013 at 21:27 comment added slhck @ArtOfWarfare No, the mp2 encoder in ffmpeg is MPEG-1 layer II. QuickTime indeed says "MPEG layer 3", no idea why this is. It also does this for MP3 audio (MPEG-1 layer III). Must be a QuickTime bug.
Aug 21, 2013 at 21:17 comment added ArtOfWarfare I tried putting the mpg produced through this command into ffmpeg again to convert it to something else - of note, it said the audio was mp2 even though Quicktime says it's layer 3. So perhaps Quicktime just has a typo in it. Or maybe ffmpeg does.
Aug 21, 2013 at 21:08 comment added ArtOfWarfare @DarthAndroid - I have attempted this, but now the video simply doesn't play in Windows 7. I've added a log to my question showing the output from ffmpeg.
Aug 21, 2013 at 21:00 comment added ArtOfWarfare I attempted this. On my Mac, the new video plays fine and is much smaller (just 12 MB), but it plays neither video nor audio on Windows 7. Quicktime (on the Mac) says that the video is MPEG-2 Video with MPEG Layer 3 audio. I'll edit my question to have more details on the output of ffmpeg.
Aug 21, 2013 at 20:54 comment added llogan Thanks. Which comment are you referring to?
Aug 21, 2013 at 20:47 comment added Darth Android @LordNeckbeard Thanks. I'm not familiar with ffmpeg so please feel free to correct/edit the answer if there are details that I missed. Also, I find it amusing that you're actually able to follow through on that comment you wrote a year ago.
Aug 21, 2013 at 20:40 history answered Darth Android CC BY-SA 3.0