Skip to main content
replaced http://superuser.com/ with https://superuser.com/
Source Link

Os X uses complex auto-magic to set the host name:

  1. The name provided by the DHCP or BootP server for the primary IP address
  2. The first name returned by a reverse DNS (address-to-name) query for the primary IP address
  3. The local hostname (set in the Sharing pane of System Preferences)
  4. The name localhost

The following post provides different fixes for OS X 10.5 & 10.6+: How can I stop Mac OS X overriding my hostname when I receive a DHCP request on Snow Leopard?How can I stop Mac OS X overriding my hostname when I receive a DHCP request on Snow Leopard?

Os X uses complex auto-magic to set the host name:

  1. The name provided by the DHCP or BootP server for the primary IP address
  2. The first name returned by a reverse DNS (address-to-name) query for the primary IP address
  3. The local hostname (set in the Sharing pane of System Preferences)
  4. The name localhost

The following post provides different fixes for OS X 10.5 & 10.6+: How can I stop Mac OS X overriding my hostname when I receive a DHCP request on Snow Leopard?

Os X uses complex auto-magic to set the host name:

  1. The name provided by the DHCP or BootP server for the primary IP address
  2. The first name returned by a reverse DNS (address-to-name) query for the primary IP address
  3. The local hostname (set in the Sharing pane of System Preferences)
  4. The name localhost

The following post provides different fixes for OS X 10.5 & 10.6+: How can I stop Mac OS X overriding my hostname when I receive a DHCP request on Snow Leopard?

Source Link

Os X uses complex auto-magic to set the host name:

  1. The name provided by the DHCP or BootP server for the primary IP address
  2. The first name returned by a reverse DNS (address-to-name) query for the primary IP address
  3. The local hostname (set in the Sharing pane of System Preferences)
  4. The name localhost

The following post provides different fixes for OS X 10.5 & 10.6+: How can I stop Mac OS X overriding my hostname when I receive a DHCP request on Snow Leopard?