Skip to main content
replaced http://superuser.com/ with https://superuser.com/
Source Link

I am trying to follow the directions in Can Windows 7 Task scheduler start a playlist in Windows Media Player 11?Can Windows 7 Task scheduler start a playlist in Windows Media Player 11?, but it is not working for me.

It may be because

  • I want to play video rather than audio, or because
  • I want the computer to wake from Sleep mode to run the task.

I set up a Windows Task Scheduler task by following all of the instructions in the answer to that question (http://superuser.com/a/479426/219755https://superuser.com/a/479426/219755) and also checking the box "Wake the computer to run this task" (under the "Conditions" tab in the settings for the task once entered).

The problem is that my computer does wake from sleep, but the screen does not turn on. If I move the mouse pointer the screen turns on, but shows me a log-in screen. Again I am not sure what the problem is.

  1. It might be just the computer failing to log in, but
  2. it might (also) be the computer not turning on the screen without user input.

I have read Task Scheduler won't wake the computerTask Scheduler won't wake the computer, but unlike in that question it does look like my computer is waking. It is just not doing the right things after waking.

I think issue "1." above has to do with the task scheduler "Security options":

  • ( ) Run only when user is logged on
  • ( ) Run whether user is logged on or not
    • [ ] Do not store password. The task will only have access to local computer resources.
  • ( ) Run with highest privileges

...but I have tried different choices there and not been able to get this to work.

###Does anybody know how to use Windows Task Scheduler to wake from sleep and do any task with the screen on?

(I assume a method that works for anything like that would work for playing a video.)

I am trying to follow the directions in Can Windows 7 Task scheduler start a playlist in Windows Media Player 11?, but it is not working for me.

It may be because

  • I want to play video rather than audio, or because
  • I want the computer to wake from Sleep mode to run the task.

I set up a Windows Task Scheduler task by following all of the instructions in the answer to that question (http://superuser.com/a/479426/219755) and also checking the box "Wake the computer to run this task" (under the "Conditions" tab in the settings for the task once entered).

The problem is that my computer does wake from sleep, but the screen does not turn on. If I move the mouse pointer the screen turns on, but shows me a log-in screen. Again I am not sure what the problem is.

  1. It might be just the computer failing to log in, but
  2. it might (also) be the computer not turning on the screen without user input.

I have read Task Scheduler won't wake the computer, but unlike in that question it does look like my computer is waking. It is just not doing the right things after waking.

I think issue "1." above has to do with the task scheduler "Security options":

  • ( ) Run only when user is logged on
  • ( ) Run whether user is logged on or not
    • [ ] Do not store password. The task will only have access to local computer resources.
  • ( ) Run with highest privileges

...but I have tried different choices there and not been able to get this to work.

###Does anybody know how to use Windows Task Scheduler to wake from sleep and do any task with the screen on?

(I assume a method that works for anything like that would work for playing a video.)

I am trying to follow the directions in Can Windows 7 Task scheduler start a playlist in Windows Media Player 11?, but it is not working for me.

It may be because

  • I want to play video rather than audio, or because
  • I want the computer to wake from Sleep mode to run the task.

I set up a Windows Task Scheduler task by following all of the instructions in the answer to that question (https://superuser.com/a/479426/219755) and also checking the box "Wake the computer to run this task" (under the "Conditions" tab in the settings for the task once entered).

The problem is that my computer does wake from sleep, but the screen does not turn on. If I move the mouse pointer the screen turns on, but shows me a log-in screen. Again I am not sure what the problem is.

  1. It might be just the computer failing to log in, but
  2. it might (also) be the computer not turning on the screen without user input.

I have read Task Scheduler won't wake the computer, but unlike in that question it does look like my computer is waking. It is just not doing the right things after waking.

I think issue "1." above has to do with the task scheduler "Security options":

  • ( ) Run only when user is logged on
  • ( ) Run whether user is logged on or not
    • [ ] Do not store password. The task will only have access to local computer resources.
  • ( ) Run with highest privileges

...but I have tried different choices there and not been able to get this to work.

###Does anybody know how to use Windows Task Scheduler to wake from sleep and do any task with the screen on?

(I assume a method that works for anything like that would work for playing a video.)

removed second part of two-part question. It should be a separate question
Source Link
A.M.
  • 1k
  • 5
  • 17
  • 24

Windows Task Scheduler to wake from sleep and play a video in fullscreen

I am trying to follow the directions in Can Windows 7 Task scheduler start a playlist in Windows Media Player 11?, but it is not working for me.

It may be because

  • I want to play video (in fullscreen) rather than audio, or because
  • I want the computer to wake from Sleep mode to run the task.

I set up a Windows Task Scheduler task by following all of the instructions in the answer to that question (http://superuser.com/a/479426/219755) and also checking the box "Wake the computer to run this task" (under the "Conditions" tab in the settings for the task once entered).

The problem is that my computer does wake from sleep, but the screen does not turn on. If I move the mouse pointer the screen turns on, but shows me a log-in screen. Again I am not sure what the problem is.

  1. It might be just the computer failing to log in, but
  2. it might (also) be the computer not turning on the screen without user input.

I have read Task Scheduler won't wake the computer, but unlike in that question it does look like my computer is waking. It is just not doing the right things after waking.

I think issue "1." above has to do with the task scheduler "Security options":

  • ( ) Run only when user is logged on
  • ( ) Run whether user is logged on or not
    • [ ] Do not store password. The task will only have access to local computer resources.
  • ( ) Run with highest privileges

...but I have tried different choices there and not been able to get this to work.

###Does anybody know how to use Windows Task Scheduler to wake from sleep and do any task with the screen on?

(I assume a method that works for anything like that would work for playing a video...and I am guessing launching WMP into fullscreen mode can be done with command line arguments, but that's a problem I can try to handle later.)

Windows Task Scheduler to wake from sleep and play a video in fullscreen

I am trying to follow the directions in Can Windows 7 Task scheduler start a playlist in Windows Media Player 11?, but it is not working for me.

It may be because

  • I want to play video (in fullscreen) rather than audio, or because
  • I want the computer to wake from Sleep mode to run the task.

I set up a Windows Task Scheduler task by following all of the instructions in the answer to that question (http://superuser.com/a/479426/219755) and also checking the box "Wake the computer to run this task" (under the "Conditions" tab in the settings for the task once entered).

The problem is that my computer does wake from sleep, but the screen does not turn on. If I move the mouse pointer the screen turns on, but shows me a log-in screen. Again I am not sure what the problem is.

  1. It might be just the computer failing to log in, but
  2. it might (also) be the computer not turning on the screen without user input.

I have read Task Scheduler won't wake the computer, but unlike in that question it does look like my computer is waking. It is just not doing the right things after waking.

I think issue "1." above has to do with the task scheduler "Security options":

  • ( ) Run only when user is logged on
  • ( ) Run whether user is logged on or not
    • [ ] Do not store password. The task will only have access to local computer resources.
  • ( ) Run with highest privileges

...but I have tried different choices there and not been able to get this to work.

###Does anybody know how to use Windows Task Scheduler to wake from sleep and do any task with the screen on?

(I assume a method that works for anything like that would work for playing a video...and I am guessing launching WMP into fullscreen mode can be done with command line arguments, but that's a problem I can try to handle later.)

Windows Task Scheduler to wake from sleep and play a video

I am trying to follow the directions in Can Windows 7 Task scheduler start a playlist in Windows Media Player 11?, but it is not working for me.

It may be because

  • I want to play video rather than audio, or because
  • I want the computer to wake from Sleep mode to run the task.

I set up a Windows Task Scheduler task by following all of the instructions in the answer to that question (http://superuser.com/a/479426/219755) and also checking the box "Wake the computer to run this task" (under the "Conditions" tab in the settings for the task once entered).

The problem is that my computer does wake from sleep, but the screen does not turn on. If I move the mouse pointer the screen turns on, but shows me a log-in screen. Again I am not sure what the problem is.

  1. It might be just the computer failing to log in, but
  2. it might (also) be the computer not turning on the screen without user input.

I have read Task Scheduler won't wake the computer, but unlike in that question it does look like my computer is waking. It is just not doing the right things after waking.

I think issue "1." above has to do with the task scheduler "Security options":

  • ( ) Run only when user is logged on
  • ( ) Run whether user is logged on or not
    • [ ] Do not store password. The task will only have access to local computer resources.
  • ( ) Run with highest privileges

...but I have tried different choices there and not been able to get this to work.

###Does anybody know how to use Windows Task Scheduler to wake from sleep and do any task with the screen on?

(I assume a method that works for anything like that would work for playing a video.)

Source Link
A.M.
  • 1k
  • 5
  • 17
  • 24

Windows Task Scheduler to wake from sleep and play a video in fullscreen

I am trying to follow the directions in Can Windows 7 Task scheduler start a playlist in Windows Media Player 11?, but it is not working for me.

It may be because

  • I want to play video (in fullscreen) rather than audio, or because
  • I want the computer to wake from Sleep mode to run the task.

I set up a Windows Task Scheduler task by following all of the instructions in the answer to that question (http://superuser.com/a/479426/219755) and also checking the box "Wake the computer to run this task" (under the "Conditions" tab in the settings for the task once entered).

The problem is that my computer does wake from sleep, but the screen does not turn on. If I move the mouse pointer the screen turns on, but shows me a log-in screen. Again I am not sure what the problem is.

  1. It might be just the computer failing to log in, but
  2. it might (also) be the computer not turning on the screen without user input.

I have read Task Scheduler won't wake the computer, but unlike in that question it does look like my computer is waking. It is just not doing the right things after waking.

I think issue "1." above has to do with the task scheduler "Security options":

  • ( ) Run only when user is logged on
  • ( ) Run whether user is logged on or not
    • [ ] Do not store password. The task will only have access to local computer resources.
  • ( ) Run with highest privileges

...but I have tried different choices there and not been able to get this to work.

###Does anybody know how to use Windows Task Scheduler to wake from sleep and do any task with the screen on?

(I assume a method that works for anything like that would work for playing a video...and I am guessing launching WMP into fullscreen mode can be done with command line arguments, but that's a problem I can try to handle later.)