Skip to main content

Some background (not entirely relevent to main question): I can't find my specific model of laptop online but it has all the same specs as this excluding the touchscreen: http://bit.ly/18netZQ

It's a Samsung Series 5 Ultrabook (windows 8) that's a mere 2 months old. Unfortunately, I've had a complication with the battery. Specifically, when I plug in the adapter, the battery no longer charges. Instead, I get a notification message saying, "Plugged in, not charging" followed by some other warning message about the battery. 

To make matters worse, I can't even power the system on without the adapter plugged up to it. If I even unplug the adapter while the system is on, it will immediately shut off. Initially it showed that the battery was resting at a 70% charge. However that number has slowly dropped while I've been looking for a fix and is now resting at a 4% charge. I'm worried it won't even be able to turn on once it drops to 0.

Anyways, almost every fix I've found online requires taking out the batter such asbattery. For example: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Lx62t6qZ34U

However, this model does not have a traditionally removable battery, but I did find this pinhole at the bottom:

Pinhole

I've already tried uninstalling/reinstalling the battery drivers. I've also checked for updates. I've also done the basics: checked the chord, the pin, connections. It'sIt is still a new laptop, so these all seem perfectly normal. All other process of the laptop work flawlessly.

Because it's so new, I haven't put that many files on it, and I would like to reset the whole system, but it didn't come with a recovery disk, and I cannot find any other drives other than the C drive. So I'm also assuming there is no recovery drive.

I don't actually have the laptop on me (I'm out of town), so it may take me a few days before I can try anything, but any help, feedback or suggestions is still greatly appreciated.

Some background (not entirely relevent to main question): I can't find my specific model of laptop online but it has all the same specs as this excluding the touchscreen: http://bit.ly/18netZQ

It's a Samsung Series 5 Ultrabook (windows 8) that's a mere 2 months old. Unfortunately, I've had a complication with the battery. Specifically, when I plug in the adapter, the battery no longer charges. Instead, I get a notification message saying, "Plugged in, not charging" followed by some other warning message about the battery. To make matters worse, I can't even power the system on without the adapter plugged up to it. If I even unplug the adapter while the system is on, it will immediately shut off. Initially it showed that the battery was resting at a 70% charge. However that number has slowly dropped while I've been looking for a fix and is now resting at a 4% charge. I'm worried it won't even be able to turn on once it drops to 0.

Anyways, almost every fix I've found online requires taking out the batter such as http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Lx62t6qZ34U

However, this model does not have a traditionally removable battery, but I did find this pinhole at the bottom:

Pinhole

I've already tried uninstalling/reinstalling the battery drivers. I've also checked for updates. I've also done the basics: checked the chord, the pin, connections. It's still a new laptop, so these all seem perfectly normal. All other process of the laptop work flawlessly.

Because it's so new, I haven't put that many files on it, and I would like to reset the whole system, but it didn't come with a recovery disk, and I cannot find any other drives other than the C drive. So I'm also assuming there is no recovery drive.

I don't actually have the laptop on me (I'm out of town), so it may take me a few days before I can try anything, but any help, feedback or suggestions is still greatly appreciated.

Some background (not entirely relevent to main question): I can't find my specific model of laptop online but it has all the same specs as this excluding the touchscreen: http://bit.ly/18netZQ

It's a Samsung Series 5 Ultrabook (windows 8) that's a mere 2 months old. Unfortunately, I've had a complication with the battery. Specifically, when I plug in the adapter, the battery no longer charges. Instead, I get a notification message saying, "Plugged in, not charging" followed by some other warning message about the battery. 

To make matters worse, I can't even power the system on without the adapter plugged up to it. If I even unplug the adapter while the system is on, it will immediately shut off. Initially it showed that the battery was resting at a 70% charge. However that number has slowly dropped while I've been looking for a fix and is now resting at a 4% charge. I'm worried it won't even be able to turn on once it drops to 0.

Anyways, almost every fix I've found online requires taking out the battery. For example: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Lx62t6qZ34U

However, this model does not have a traditionally removable battery, but I did find this pinhole at the bottom:

Pinhole

I've already tried uninstalling/reinstalling the battery drivers. I've also checked for updates. I've also done the basics: checked the chord, the pin, connections. It is still a new laptop, so these all seem perfectly normal. All other process of the laptop work flawlessly.

Because it's so new, I haven't put that many files on it, and I would like to reset the whole system, but it didn't come with a recovery disk, and I cannot find any other drives other than the C drive. So I'm also assuming there is no recovery drive.

I don't actually have the laptop on me (I'm out of town), so it may take me a few days before I can try anything, but any help, feedback or suggestions is still greatly appreciated.

Source Link
Grant
  • 153
  • 1
  • 1
  • 4

What is the function/purpose of the pinhole on the battery of a Samsung Series 5 ultrabook?

Some background (not entirely relevent to main question): I can't find my specific model of laptop online but it has all the same specs as this excluding the touchscreen: http://bit.ly/18netZQ

It's a Samsung Series 5 Ultrabook (windows 8) that's a mere 2 months old. Unfortunately, I've had a complication with the battery. Specifically, when I plug in the adapter, the battery no longer charges. Instead, I get a notification message saying, "Plugged in, not charging" followed by some other warning message about the battery. To make matters worse, I can't even power the system on without the adapter plugged up to it. If I even unplug the adapter while the system is on, it will immediately shut off. Initially it showed that the battery was resting at a 70% charge. However that number has slowly dropped while I've been looking for a fix and is now resting at a 4% charge. I'm worried it won't even be able to turn on once it drops to 0.

Anyways, almost every fix I've found online requires taking out the batter such as http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Lx62t6qZ34U

However, this model does not have a traditionally removable battery, but I did find this pinhole at the bottom:

Pinhole

I've already tried uninstalling/reinstalling the battery drivers. I've also checked for updates. I've also done the basics: checked the chord, the pin, connections. It's still a new laptop, so these all seem perfectly normal. All other process of the laptop work flawlessly.

Because it's so new, I haven't put that many files on it, and I would like to reset the whole system, but it didn't come with a recovery disk, and I cannot find any other drives other than the C drive. So I'm also assuming there is no recovery drive.

I don't actually have the laptop on me (I'm out of town), so it may take me a few days before I can try anything, but any help, feedback or suggestions is still greatly appreciated.