Skip to main content
12 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Aug 4, 2013 at 2:42 comment added glenviewjeff @Rory et al, it ends up there's no way anyone besides me could have solved this problem. It was my idiotic network topology. I had a Voip device inadvertently sitting between the two routers blocking the uplink traffic. Sorry for the confusion and thanks for trying to help!
Aug 3, 2013 at 23:32 comment added glenviewjeff whatUwant, I've now tried plugging into the LAN port of the secondary router and disabling the secondary router's DHCP. For some reason, the primary router still won't assign IP addresses to the devices connected to the secondary router's wifi. I'm not too familiar with the protocol to understand why this shouldn't work. I'm sure it would work fine for devices connected to the secondary router's wired LAN.
Aug 3, 2013 at 23:29 comment added glenviewjeff @Rory my primary router has something called "wireless repeating function." This is meant for bridging a LAN wirelessly rather than bridging a wireless network across a unified LAN. The wireless function is useless on the secondary router if this mode is used because the wireless antenna is dedicated to communicating with the primary router in order to route wired LAN traffic wirelessly.
Aug 3, 2013 at 22:27 comment added whatUwant @glenviewjeff You mentioned in your question "A LAN port from the primary router is connected to the Internet port of the secondary router". But you did not say whether you unplugged the cable from the WAN port to a LAN port of the secondary router after you disabled the DHCP service on it.
Aug 3, 2013 at 22:21 comment added Rory How about your primary router?
Aug 3, 2013 at 22:20 history edited whatUwant CC BY-SA 3.0
added 4 characters in body
Aug 3, 2013 at 22:16 comment added glenviewjeff @Rory my secondary router doens't have a bridge mode.
Aug 3, 2013 at 22:16 comment added glenviewjeff My mistake; can you make a slight edit to your question so I can undo the downvote? Sorry about that.
Aug 3, 2013 at 22:09 comment added whatUwant Have you plugged the cable to a LAN port (not the WAN port)?
Aug 3, 2013 at 21:56 comment added Rory You may have tried it already, but I think this is more along the lines of what you need to do. Have you tried switching secondary router to Bridge mode?
Aug 3, 2013 at 21:51 comment added glenviewjeff Hi whatUwant, you must not have noticed that in my question I mentioned that I already tried this. For some reason the primary router won't dole out addresses to clients on the secondary network.
Aug 3, 2013 at 21:44 history answered whatUwant CC BY-SA 3.0