Skip to main content
7 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Aug 4, 2013 at 2:42 comment added glenviewjeff Anit, it ends up there's no way anyone besides me could have solved this problem. It was my idiotic network topology. I had a Voip device inadvertently sitting between the two routers blocking the uplink traffic. Sorry for the confusion and thanks for trying to help! The LAN port is the way to go by the way.
Aug 3, 2013 at 23:58 comment added Anit Gandhi I know this is against what I said earlier and it doesn't sound logical to me, but have you tried/can you try plugging it in into a LAN port instead of a WAN port? Some Netgear page said to try that...
Aug 3, 2013 at 23:36 comment added glenviewjeff Anit, I don't think the computers can see each other in either direction.
Aug 3, 2013 at 21:53 comment added glenviewjeff Anit, I had tried both methods. Disabling secondary router's DHCP prevented any IP address from being provided to clients on the secondary network. Enabling DHCP allows internet access at least but no communication between devices on the LAN.
Aug 3, 2013 at 21:51 comment added Anit Gandhi well yeah but but setting the secondary router's IP address range implies that DHCP is still enabled, which it shouldn't be. I THINK that they're going on to different subnets. Computer B can't find A, but can computer A find B?
Aug 3, 2013 at 21:44 comment added glenviewjeff Hi Anit, you must not have noticed that I already set up the secondary router to use 128 to 255. I also already have an ethernet cable running from a LAN port of the primary to the Internet port of the secondary. The WNR1000 doesn't appear to have a setting for "access point only".
Aug 3, 2013 at 21:29 history answered Anit Gandhi CC BY-SA 3.0