Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

6
  • Hi Anit, you must not have noticed that I already set up the secondary router to use 128 to 255. I also already have an ethernet cable running from a LAN port of the primary to the Internet port of the secondary. The WNR1000 doesn't appear to have a setting for "access point only". Commented Aug 3, 2013 at 21:44
  • well yeah but but setting the secondary router's IP address range implies that DHCP is still enabled, which it shouldn't be. I THINK that they're going on to different subnets. Computer B can't find A, but can computer A find B? Commented Aug 3, 2013 at 21:51
  • Anit, I had tried both methods. Disabling secondary router's DHCP prevented any IP address from being provided to clients on the secondary network. Enabling DHCP allows internet access at least but no communication between devices on the LAN. Commented Aug 3, 2013 at 21:53
  • Anit, I don't think the computers can see each other in either direction. Commented Aug 3, 2013 at 23:36
  • I know this is against what I said earlier and it doesn't sound logical to me, but have you tried/can you try plugging it in into a LAN port instead of a WAN port? Some Netgear page said to try that... Commented Aug 3, 2013 at 23:58