Skip to main content
Post Closed as "Not suitable for this site" by Daniel Beck
edited title
Link
glenviewjeff
  • 1.8k
  • 4
  • 18
  • 36

How can I unify the network ofput two wireless routers on the same subnet?

added 95 characters in body
Source Link
glenviewjeff
  • 1.8k
  • 4
  • 18
  • 36

I have two Netgear wireless routers; one primary (WNR2000) connected to the Internet, and a secondary (WNR1000) connected to the primary via a long Ethernet cable to the other side of my home. A LAN port from the primary router is connected to the Internet port of the secondary router.

I set up the primary router's IP to 192.168.0.1 and its DHCP to give out IP address 192.168.0.2 to 127, and hard coded the secondary router to 192.168.0.2 and configured its DHCP to use the range 128 to 255.

I also set the secondary router's NAT filtering to "open" rather than secured.

The problem is when I try to access a Windows PC (A) that's connected on the primary router from another Windows PC (B) on the secondary router, computer B can't find computer A.

I had tried disabling DHCP altogether on the secondary router, but then new devices didn't get an IP address at all. It seems that the primary router won't serve up IP addresses on the second network for some reason.

What am I doing wrong?

I have two Netgear wireless routers; one primary (WNR2000) connected to the Internet, and a secondary (WNR1000) connected to the primary via a long Ethernet cable to the other side of my home.

I set up the primary router's IP to 192.168.0.1 and its DHCP to give out IP address 192.168.0.2 to 127, and hard coded the secondary router to 192.168.0.2 and configured its DHCP to use the range 128 to 255.

I also set the secondary router's NAT filtering to "open" rather than secured.

The problem is when I try to access a Windows PC (A) that's connected on the primary router from another Windows PC (B) on the secondary router, computer B can't find computer A.

I had tried disabling DHCP altogether on the secondary router, but then new devices didn't get an IP address at all. It seems that the primary router won't serve up IP addresses on the second network for some reason.

What am I doing wrong?

I have two Netgear wireless routers; one primary (WNR2000) connected to the Internet, and a secondary (WNR1000) connected to the primary via a long Ethernet cable to the other side of my home. A LAN port from the primary router is connected to the Internet port of the secondary router.

I set up the primary router's IP to 192.168.0.1 and its DHCP to give out IP address 192.168.0.2 to 127, and hard coded the secondary router to 192.168.0.2 and configured its DHCP to use the range 128 to 255.

I also set the secondary router's NAT filtering to "open" rather than secured.

The problem is when I try to access a Windows PC (A) that's connected on the primary router from another Windows PC (B) on the secondary router, computer B can't find computer A.

I had tried disabling DHCP altogether on the secondary router, but then new devices didn't get an IP address at all. It seems that the primary router won't serve up IP addresses on the second network for some reason.

What am I doing wrong?

Source Link
glenviewjeff
  • 1.8k
  • 4
  • 18
  • 36

How can I unify the network of two wireless routers?

I have two Netgear wireless routers; one primary (WNR2000) connected to the Internet, and a secondary (WNR1000) connected to the primary via a long Ethernet cable to the other side of my home.

I set up the primary router's IP to 192.168.0.1 and its DHCP to give out IP address 192.168.0.2 to 127, and hard coded the secondary router to 192.168.0.2 and configured its DHCP to use the range 128 to 255.

I also set the secondary router's NAT filtering to "open" rather than secured.

The problem is when I try to access a Windows PC (A) that's connected on the primary router from another Windows PC (B) on the secondary router, computer B can't find computer A.

I had tried disabling DHCP altogether on the secondary router, but then new devices didn't get an IP address at all. It seems that the primary router won't serve up IP addresses on the second network for some reason.

What am I doing wrong?