Skip to main content
4 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Jul 24, 2013 at 12:12 comment added ThK After reading multiple information sources about readyboost with a different focus I start getting the impression that THE MOST IMPORTANT FACT IS NEVER CLEARLY STATED: readyboost can only be configured to cache WHERE but NOT to cache WHAT. I.e. if there is one SSD partition providing a readyboost cache, then it CANNOT be prevented that it is caching data from ANOTHER SSD partition. Is that true? That realy would void my initial plan.
Jul 24, 2013 at 11:39 comment added ThK I'd rather like to see this answer deleted. The statement is irrelevant to my question and I even consider it contradictory/false: I intend to cache (on the SSD) the large amount of small files which will reside in subdirectories together with very large files on the 2TB rotational disks. How does 'having an SSD' automatically cache files from rotating disks on that SSD? Readyboost could do that and that's what I aim for. I.e. readyboost is only 'not needed any longer' if no small files are waiting to be cached from rotating disks.
Jul 23, 2013 at 18:02 review Suggested edits
Jul 23, 2013 at 18:04
Jul 23, 2013 at 4:33 history answered magicandre1981 CC BY-SA 3.0