Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

5
  • Suprised that you find Ubuntu better than Debian for recognising wireless card. Ubuntu gave me a lot of headache until I stopped trying it. I am fairly confident using Linux and this is why I was going to change to Debian and see how good it is.
    – ha9u63a7
    Commented Jun 24, 2013 at 15:13
  • @hagubear I quite agree about Ubuntu, Mint was for me the best at hardware recognition. Especially for wireless. Debian is much stricter in the software it includes so it may lack proprietary drivers that Mint or Ubuntu would be willing to include. Personally I use Mint Debian which is a great compromise. It is a pure Debian install (not Ubuntu) but has some added tricks to make your life easier. You may want to give that a try.
    – terdon
    Commented Jun 24, 2013 at 15:15
  • Hmm...I actually checked the website and it seems they are still beta testing. Is it worth a try to install the Mintu Ubuntu then?
    – ha9u63a7
    Commented Jun 24, 2013 at 17:29
  • @hagubear what's still in beta? And I don't know if it is worth it, it depends on you. Mint is currently the most popular Linux distribution according to distrowatch.com, it is a great distro and a very good place to start. Seriously though, to try any distro just download and boot from the CD.
    – terdon
    Commented Jun 24, 2013 at 17:36
  • Thanks for this. I will give it a try anyway. Also, the version I was referring to was here.
    – ha9u63a7
    Commented Jun 24, 2013 at 17:40