Skip to main content
The 2024 Developer Survey results are live! See the results
added 849 characters in body
Source Link
misteryes
  • 3.1k
  • 14
  • 42
  • 51

Let's assume I have a domain name, for example, myproxy.com. Then I have many websites, like kitty.myproxy.com , wow.myproxy.com I want to configure an authoritative DNS server for the domain name.

I hope, if a user wants to visit these websites, when the browser send a DNS query, the DNS query will finally arrive at the authoritative DNS server. and in this way, the authoritative can obtain the IP of the host which did the DNS query.

my expectation is: all DNS queries for these websites have to be sent to the authoritative DNS server so I can know all the hosts that did the DNS queries. Is it possible or not?

I'm afraid some other DNS servers which cache the DNS records, so these DNS server will answer the DNS queries, then these queries are not forwarded to the authoritative DNS server. Is it possible to prevent this?

thanksNote: I'm doing a research work. My target is to make a proxy. There are many web servers which register on the proxy. Only the proxy knows the IP of these web servers. When a browser wants to visit one of these web servers, it can obtain the IP of the proxy from DNS query. And then it connects to the proxy. I hope that the proxy can know exactly which web server this browser wants to visit when the TCP SYN comes(before the HTTP request, indeed, by parsing the HTTP request, the proxy can get to know which web server the browser wants to visit). So if the web browser does a DNS query and this query is known by the proxy, the proxy can then cache a mapping between the web server and the browser host IP. When the TCP SYN comes, the proxy immediately check the mapping and get to know which web server the browser actually wants to visit. thanks!

Let's assume I have a domain name, for example, myproxy.com. Then I have many websites, like kitty.myproxy.com , wow.myproxy.com I want to configure an authoritative DNS server for the domain name.

I hope, if a user wants to visit these websites, when the browser send a DNS query, the DNS query will finally arrive at the authoritative DNS server. and in this way, the authoritative can obtain the IP of the host which did the DNS query.

my expectation is: all DNS queries for these websites have to be sent to the authoritative DNS server so I can know all the hosts that did the DNS queries. Is it possible or not?

I'm afraid some other DNS servers which cache the DNS records, so these DNS server will answer the DNS queries, then these queries are not forwarded to the authoritative DNS server. Is it possible to prevent this?

thanks!

Let's assume I have a domain name, for example, myproxy.com. Then I have many websites, like kitty.myproxy.com , wow.myproxy.com I want to configure an authoritative DNS server for the domain name.

I hope, if a user wants to visit these websites, when the browser send a DNS query, the DNS query will finally arrive at the authoritative DNS server. and in this way, the authoritative can obtain the IP of the host which did the DNS query.

my expectation is: all DNS queries for these websites have to be sent to the authoritative DNS server so I can know all the hosts that did the DNS queries. Is it possible or not?

I'm afraid some other DNS servers which cache the DNS records, so these DNS server will answer the DNS queries, then these queries are not forwarded to the authoritative DNS server. Is it possible to prevent this?

Note: I'm doing a research work. My target is to make a proxy. There are many web servers which register on the proxy. Only the proxy knows the IP of these web servers. When a browser wants to visit one of these web servers, it can obtain the IP of the proxy from DNS query. And then it connects to the proxy. I hope that the proxy can know exactly which web server this browser wants to visit when the TCP SYN comes(before the HTTP request, indeed, by parsing the HTTP request, the proxy can get to know which web server the browser wants to visit). So if the web browser does a DNS query and this query is known by the proxy, the proxy can then cache a mapping between the web server and the browser host IP. When the TCP SYN comes, the proxy immediately check the mapping and get to know which web server the browser actually wants to visit. thanks!

Source Link
misteryes
  • 3.1k
  • 14
  • 42
  • 51

is it possible for a server to know which client(IP) did a DNS query for its domain name?

Let's assume I have a domain name, for example, myproxy.com. Then I have many websites, like kitty.myproxy.com , wow.myproxy.com I want to configure an authoritative DNS server for the domain name.

I hope, if a user wants to visit these websites, when the browser send a DNS query, the DNS query will finally arrive at the authoritative DNS server. and in this way, the authoritative can obtain the IP of the host which did the DNS query.

my expectation is: all DNS queries for these websites have to be sent to the authoritative DNS server so I can know all the hosts that did the DNS queries. Is it possible or not?

I'm afraid some other DNS servers which cache the DNS records, so these DNS server will answer the DNS queries, then these queries are not forwarded to the authoritative DNS server. Is it possible to prevent this?

thanks!