Skip to main content

Here's what I had to do:

  • open services.mscservices.msc
  • Stop "Window Search"the Windows Search service (I was this far already).
  • Rename C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Search\Data\Applications\Windows\Windows.edbC:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Search\Data\Applications\Windows\Windows.edb
  • Start "Windows Search"the Windows Search service
  • The directory rebuilds Windows.edbWindows.edb (34MB34 MB initial size in my case)
  • Open Control PanelControl Panel /Indexing Options Indexing Options
  • Wait a long time for buttons to become enabled
  • Click ModifyModify
  • Uncheck UsersUsers directory or whatever else you don't want indexed (I left Start MenuStart Menu enabled because it's so small)
  • Click OkOk
  • Stand on your head and count to three while drinking water with a straw. (not sure if this part is necessary but I wanted to try everything I could)

It now says indexing complete with only 800 or so items. TotalTotal size of the directory is now just over 48MB48 MB. Pretty large index if you ask me, but better than 2GB2 GB.

Here's what I had to do:

  • open services.msc
  • Stop "Window Search" (I was this far already).
  • Rename C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Search\Data\Applications\Windows\Windows.edb
  • Start "Windows Search"
  • The directory rebuilds Windows.edb (34MB initial size in my case)
  • Open Control Panel/Indexing Options
  • Wait a long time for buttons to become enabled
  • Click Modify
  • Uncheck Users or whatever else you don't want indexed (I left Start Menu enabled because it's so small)
  • Click Ok
  • Stand on your head and count to three while drinking water with a straw. (not sure if this part is necessary but I wanted to try everything I could)

It now says indexing complete with only 800 or so items. Total size of the directory is now just over 48MB. Pretty large index if you ask me, but better than 2GB.

Here's what I had to do:

  • open services.msc
  • Stop the Windows Search service (I was this far already).
  • Rename C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Search\Data\Applications\Windows\Windows.edb
  • Start the Windows Search service
  • The directory rebuilds Windows.edb (34 MB initial size in my case)
  • Open Control Panel / Indexing Options
  • Wait a long time for buttons to become enabled
  • Click Modify
  • Uncheck Users directory or whatever else you don't want indexed (I left Start Menu enabled because it's so small)
  • Click Ok
  • Stand on your head and count to three while drinking water with a straw. (not sure if this part is necessary but I wanted to try everything I could)

It now says indexing complete with only 800 or so items. Total size of the directory is now just over 48 MB. Pretty large index if you ask me, but better than 2 GB.

Source Link
User1
  • 9.4k
  • 9
  • 36
  • 46

Here's what I had to do:

  • open services.msc
  • Stop "Window Search" (I was this far already).
  • Rename C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Search\Data\Applications\Windows\Windows.edb
  • Start "Windows Search"
  • The directory rebuilds Windows.edb (34MB initial size in my case)
  • Open Control Panel/Indexing Options
  • Wait a long time for buttons to become enabled
  • Click Modify
  • Uncheck Users or whatever else you don't want indexed (I left Start Menu enabled because it's so small)
  • Click Ok
  • Stand on your head and count to three while drinking water with a straw. (not sure if this part is necessary but I wanted to try everything I could)

It now says indexing complete with only 800 or so items. Total size of the directory is now just over 48MB. Pretty large index if you ask me, but better than 2GB.