Skip to main content
Question Protected by Ramhound
Tweeted twitter.com/super_user/status/1552353146206314498

I have Windows Vista on a machine and I noticed quite a bit of hard drive was disappearing. I ran a utility to show me where it all went. I found the following directory consumes over 2GB of space: C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Search\Data\Applications\WindowsC:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Search\Data\Applications\Windows.

The "Microsoft Search"Microsoft Search service is now disabled, but I want it removed completely. I see nothing on Add/Remove ProgramsAdd/Remove Programs. AlsoAlso, will I get blue screens if I delete this directory?

I have Windows Vista on a machine and I noticed quite a bit of hard drive was disappearing. I ran a utility to show me where it all went. I found the following directory consumes over 2GB of space: C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Search\Data\Applications\Windows

The "Microsoft Search" service is now disabled, but I want it removed completely. I see nothing on Add/Remove Programs. Also, will I get blue screens if I delete this directory?

I have Windows Vista on a machine and I noticed quite a bit of hard drive was disappearing. I ran a utility to show me where it all went. I found the following directory consumes over 2GB of space: C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Search\Data\Applications\Windows.

The Microsoft Search service is now disabled, but I want it removed completely. I see nothing on Add/Remove Programs. Also, will I get blue screens if I delete this directory?

Post Migrated Here from stackoverflow.com (revisions)
Source Link
User1
User1

Stopping Microsoft Search from eating my hard drive

I have Windows Vista on a machine and I noticed quite a bit of hard drive was disappearing. I ran a utility to show me where it all went. I found the following directory consumes over 2GB of space: C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Search\Data\Applications\Windows

The "Microsoft Search" service is now disabled, but I want it removed completely. I see nothing on Add/Remove Programs. Also, will I get blue screens if I delete this directory?