Skip to main content
I removed the Switch tag; this question does not involve a networking switch.
Link
added 179 characters in body
Source Link
Gary
  • 1.3k
  • 3
  • 23
  • 38

My primary computer is an iMac. I plan on getting a PC and a new monitor so I can use a KVM switch to share the keyboard, mouse, and monitor between the two computers. The new PC will be used solely for video games. I originally installed Windows 7 in Boot Camp on my iMac to play video games, but my iMac is outdated now and so a new PC would be the better long-term solution for gaming, since I can upgrade it whenever necessary.

However, I'm looking for an appropriate KVM switch to use to share between the two computers. Most KVM switches support only VGA, for instance, while the more expensive $100+ ones support DVI. Should VGA be sufficient, or should I go the digital route for the expensive DVI, especially when gaming and watching HD videos, etc.?

Also, should something like this be sufficient, or should I get one of the "gaming" KVMs like this one, which IOGEAR's support themselves recommended to me? Although, it's $300+, so it's very, very expensive in my opinion, so if it's not necessary then I'd rather avoid it. I've heard that something basic such as this is also sufficient in most cases, and it even supports HDMI, which should be better than DVI.

My primary computer is an iMac. I plan on getting a PC and a new monitor so I can use a KVM switch to share the keyboard, mouse, and monitor between the two computers. The new PC will be used solely for video games. I originally installed Windows 7 in Boot Camp on my iMac to play video games, but my iMac is outdated now and so a new PC would be the better long-term solution for gaming, since I can upgrade it whenever necessary.

However, I'm looking for an appropriate KVM switch to use to share between the two computers. Most KVM switches support only VGA, for instance, while the more expensive $100+ ones support DVI. Should VGA be sufficient, or should I go the digital route for the expensive DVI, especially when gaming and watching HD videos, etc.?

Also, should something like this be sufficient, or should I get one of the "gaming" KVMs like this one, which IOGEAR's support themselves recommended to me? Although, it's $300+, so it's very, very expensive in my opinion, so if it's not necessary then I'd rather avoid it.

My primary computer is an iMac. I plan on getting a PC and a new monitor so I can use a KVM switch to share the keyboard, mouse, and monitor between the two computers. The new PC will be used solely for video games. I originally installed Windows 7 in Boot Camp on my iMac to play video games, but my iMac is outdated now and so a new PC would be the better long-term solution for gaming, since I can upgrade it whenever necessary.

However, I'm looking for an appropriate KVM switch to use to share between the two computers. Most KVM switches support only VGA, for instance, while the more expensive $100+ ones support DVI. Should VGA be sufficient, or should I go the digital route for the expensive DVI, especially when gaming and watching HD videos, etc.?

Also, should something like this be sufficient, or should I get one of the "gaming" KVMs like this one, which IOGEAR's support themselves recommended to me? Although, it's $300+, so it's very, very expensive in my opinion, so if it's not necessary then I'd rather avoid it. I've heard that something basic such as this is also sufficient in most cases, and it even supports HDMI, which should be better than DVI.

Source Link
Gary
  • 1.3k
  • 3
  • 23
  • 38

Using a KVM switch for video games?

My primary computer is an iMac. I plan on getting a PC and a new monitor so I can use a KVM switch to share the keyboard, mouse, and monitor between the two computers. The new PC will be used solely for video games. I originally installed Windows 7 in Boot Camp on my iMac to play video games, but my iMac is outdated now and so a new PC would be the better long-term solution for gaming, since I can upgrade it whenever necessary.

However, I'm looking for an appropriate KVM switch to use to share between the two computers. Most KVM switches support only VGA, for instance, while the more expensive $100+ ones support DVI. Should VGA be sufficient, or should I go the digital route for the expensive DVI, especially when gaming and watching HD videos, etc.?

Also, should something like this be sufficient, or should I get one of the "gaming" KVMs like this one, which IOGEAR's support themselves recommended to me? Although, it's $300+, so it's very, very expensive in my opinion, so if it's not necessary then I'd rather avoid it.