Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

6
  • I am very much aware of the fact that things went wrong when I connected all three components at once. The thing is, I wasn't at all aware that I actually wasn't troubleshooting the mobo but instead something else entirely at that point. I didn't even imagine that one of the three components could be the culprit. I think I learnt my lesson on this part... Is there any way to further troubleshoot the HDD or the DVD without risking any other components or computers?
    – white
    Commented Apr 24, 2013 at 9:47
  • 3
    Without paying someone else to troubleshoot the drive, I'm certain that a safer route lies in checking the hard drive via a USB interface... using a USB to SATA converter or an old External drive case. This should also work well for checking the optical drive. Putting a separate interface with a separate power source between the drive and the motherboard might risk the interface itself, but it would definitely be a workable buffer.
    – Bon Gart
    Commented Apr 24, 2013 at 12:40
  • @white Maybe you could find the problem with a multimeter. Seems like the only way a drive would fry the board is if it shorted 12V to one of the data pins, or maybe to 5V or 3.3V.
    – derobert
    Commented Apr 24, 2013 at 19:35
  • @BonGart I think I'll give a USB to SATA converter a go first.
    – white
    Commented Apr 25, 2013 at 7:34
  • @BonGart Ok... I got myself a USB-SATA adapter during the weekend and tested both the DVD-drive and the HDD. Both worked mechanically as they should and the adapter itself stayed intact. Neither of the drives mounted but I guess this has something to do with the fact that the old Mac I tested the drives with is at its very last legs at this point. I guess I have to start poking around with the multimeter next...
    – white
    Commented Apr 29, 2013 at 11:48