Skip to main content
Moving comments to their correct places after I got the account working properly
Source Link
white
  • 75
  • 3

EDIT2: Many thanks for the input. I can't comment yet so I'll edit my replies in here.

@Carl B - No tech support has been involved apart from the brief troubleshooting during the RMA so no help there. Unfortunately I can't return the mobo a second time as this really points to a user error of some sort which the guarantee does not cover. And yes, I think I'll go for another manufacturer next.

@Bon Gart - I am very much aware of the fact that things went wrong when I connected all three components at once. The thing is, I wasn't at all aware that I actually wasn't troubleshooting the mobo but instead something else entirely at that point. I didn't even imagine that one of the three components could be the culprit. I think I learnt my lesson on this part...

Is there any way to further troubleshoot the HDD or the DVD without risking any other components or computers?

EDIT2: Many thanks for the input. I can't comment yet so I'll edit my replies in here.

@Carl B - No tech support has been involved apart from the brief troubleshooting during the RMA so no help there. Unfortunately I can't return the mobo a second time as this really points to a user error of some sort which the guarantee does not cover. And yes, I think I'll go for another manufacturer next.

@Bon Gart - I am very much aware of the fact that things went wrong when I connected all three components at once. The thing is, I wasn't at all aware that I actually wasn't troubleshooting the mobo but instead something else entirely at that point. I didn't even imagine that one of the three components could be the culprit. I think I learnt my lesson on this part...

Is there any way to further troubleshoot the HDD or the DVD without risking any other components or computers?

More comments to comments as I can't comment any of the comments or answers
Source Link

EDIT2: Many thanks for the input. I can't comment yet so I'll edit my replies in here.

@Carl B - No tech support has been involved apart from the brief troubleshooting during the RMA so no help there. Unfortunately I can't return the mobo a second time as this really points to a user error of some sort which the guarantee does not cover. And yes, I think I'll go for another manufacturer next.

@Bon Gart - I am very much aware of the fact that things went wrong when I connected all three components at once. The thing is, I wasn't at all aware that I actually wasn't troubleshooting the mobo but instead something else entirely at that point. I didn't even imagine that one of the three components could be the culprit. I think I learnt my lesson on this part...

Is there any way to further troubleshoot the HDD or the DVD without risking any other components or computers?

EDIT2: Many thanks for the input. I can't comment yet so I'll edit my replies in here.

@Carl B - No tech support has been involved apart from the brief troubleshooting during the RMA so no help there. Unfortunately I can't return the mobo a second time as this really points to a user error of some sort which the guarantee does not cover. And yes, I think I'll go for another manufacturer next.

@Bon Gart - I am very much aware of the fact that things went wrong when I connected all three components at once. The thing is, I wasn't at all aware that I actually wasn't troubleshooting the mobo but instead something else entirely at that point. I didn't even imagine that one of the three components could be the culprit. I think I learnt my lesson on this part...

Is there any way to further troubleshoot the HDD or the DVD without risking any other components or computers?

Comments to comments, wasn't able to comment the original post
Source Link

E: Yes, I have checked and checked again the CPU power connector and it's the right one, believe me.

And I have also plugged and unplugged the drive(s) several times after the build decided to go dark on me the second time. As I mentioned, I have breadboarded my way through all combinations of components I could think of that should, in normal circumstances, at least boot into UEFI. This both inside and outside the case.

I have been through my fair share of computer building in my life but I have not come across anything like this before so i'm completely puzzled by this at this point

E: Yes, I have checked and checked again the CPU power connector and it's the right one, believe me.

And I have also plugged and unplugged the drive(s) several times after the build decided to go dark on me the second time. As I mentioned, I have breadboarded my way through all combinations of components I could think of that should, in normal circumstances, at least boot into UEFI. This both inside and outside the case.

I have been through my fair share of computer building in my life but I have not come across anything like this before so i'm completely puzzled by this at this point

Source Link
white
  • 75
  • 3
Loading