Skip to main content
11 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Apr 16, 2013 at 19:16 vote accept Benjamin Jones
Apr 9, 2013 at 16:29 answer added Benjamin Jones timeline score: 1
Apr 4, 2013 at 18:28 history edited Benjamin Jones CC BY-SA 3.0
spelling.
Apr 2, 2013 at 15:39 comment added Benjamin Jones I believe I might be getting some where. I 1st connected to SSH server using a reverse ssh tunnel: plink -ssh -P 22 username@WANIP -pw "password" -R 445:WindowsIP:445. Next I tried to mount the Windows share from the Ubuntu Server. sudo mount -t cifs //WinIP/UbuntuTest /mnt/UbuntuTest -o port=445,username="",password=,domain=. Got this error now:mount error(115): Operation now in progress . Any clue on what this error might be in relation to my issue.
Apr 2, 2013 at 14:51 comment added Benjamin Jones @ terdon. My issue wasn't Reverse SSH by port forwarding a webserver. but how to use Reverse SSH by portforwarding a windows share (windows computer behind firewall and Ubuntu Server hosting sshserver needs to access windows file share). As my orginal post mention.
Apr 2, 2013 at 14:47 comment added Benjamin Jones Now that I know Reverse SSH works, how would I get to my Windows share that is on the Windows laptop behind an unaccessable firewall, from my Ubuntu Server? I tried to set putty (plink would work as well) on my Windows machince to portforward source 4445 destination localhost:445, remote button clicked. Then use the command from my Ubuntu Server(connected from putty session): smbclient -L //localhost -p 4445 -U "Username" to list the reverse ssh Windows share. FAILED! Error: read error = NT_STATUS_END_OF_FILE. hmmmm not to sure what this means?
Apr 2, 2013 at 14:40 comment added terdon Well done for figuring that out! Could you please post your solution as an answer so others can benefit from it?
Apr 2, 2013 at 14:38 comment added Benjamin Jones Ok, so with out any help from this form, I believe I am getting a little closer. I have setup a successful Reverse ssh tunnel to view my Windows laptop webserver that sits behind a firewall on another network from my Ubuntu Server. Putty portforward source:9090 destination localhost:80 and make sure the remote/auto options are clicked. Once resverse tunnel is established from putty (Windows laptop), try wget localhost:9090 from your Ubuntu machine. If you get your files transferred then the reverse ssh to your Windows laptop that sits behind firewall from your Ubuntu Server worked
Apr 1, 2013 at 18:20 comment added Benjamin Jones how do I mount a Windows share from a Ubuntu Server. The Window share is on another network and I cannot open any ports on the network that is hosting this windows share. So correct me if I am wrong, but I would setup a Reverse SSH tunnel via putty on the Windows machine and setup portfordwarding in order to access the Windows share on the Ubuntu Server, correct?
Apr 1, 2013 at 18:14 comment added terdon Who is exporting and who is mounting? Your use of "from" is confusing. Is windows exporting via smb or Ubuntu?
Apr 1, 2013 at 18:02 history asked Benjamin Jones CC BY-SA 3.0