Skip to main content
Improve formatting for better reading.
Source Link
2540625
  • 425
  • 6
  • 15

The UNIX prompt uses a $$ symbol to indicate that your input is expected.

I was wondering why this symbol was chosen -- ifchosen—if there is a reason. Dollar just seems a little unexpected. A >> symbol would have been more suggestive in my opinion.

The UNIX prompt uses a $ symbol to indicate that your input is expected.

I was wondering why this symbol was chosen -- if there is a reason. Dollar just seems a little unexpected. A > would have been more suggestive in my opinion.

The UNIX prompt uses a $ symbol to indicate that your input is expected.

I was wondering why this symbol was chosen—if there is a reason. Dollar just seems a little unexpected. A > symbol would have been more suggestive in my opinion.

edited tags
Link
akira
  • 62.5k
  • 18
  • 138
  • 165
removed apology for asking on SO
Source Link
foraidt
  • 6.4k
  • 2
  • 26
  • 25

I know this isn't really a programming question, and I apologise for that. But I think it is interesting nonetheless, and I couldn't think of a better place to ask it.

The UNIX prompt uses a $ symbol to indicate that your input is expected.

I was wondering why this symbol was chosen -- if there is a reason. Dollar just seems a little unexpected. A > would have been more suggestive in my opinion.

I know this isn't really a programming question, and I apologise for that. But I think it is interesting nonetheless, and I couldn't think of a better place to ask it.

The UNIX prompt uses a $ symbol to indicate that your input is expected.

I was wondering why this symbol was chosen -- if there is a reason. Dollar just seems a little unexpected. A > would have been more suggestive in my opinion.

The UNIX prompt uses a $ symbol to indicate that your input is expected.

I was wondering why this symbol was chosen -- if there is a reason. Dollar just seems a little unexpected. A > would have been more suggestive in my opinion.

Post Made Community Wiki by BinaryMisfit
edited tags
Link
wfaulk
  • 6.2k
  • 5
  • 34
  • 46
Loading
Post Migrated Here from stackoverflow.com (revisions)
Source Link
Max Howell
Max Howell
Loading