Skip to main content
added 1290 characters in body
Source Link
J F
  • 1.6k
  • 13
  • 10

I am going to answer this myself somewhat.

I ended up doing this:

• copied Y:\Boot\* to C:\Boot. Some files could not be copied. I expected this, and the next step should take care of it.

• exported system store

bcdedit /export C:\Boot\BCD

• changed Windows Boot Manager location

bcdedit /store C:\Boot\BCD /set {9dea862c-5cdd-4e70-acc1-f32b344d4795} device partition=C:

• changed Windows Memory Tester location

bcdedit /store C:\Boot\BCD /set {b2721d73-1db4-4c62-bf78-c548a880142d} device partition=C:

• changed Windows Legacy OS Loader location

bcdedit /store C:\Boot\BCD /set {466f5a88-0af2-4f76-9038-095b170dc21c} device partition=C:

• updated master boot code

Windows_7_DVD:\BOOT\BOOTSECT /NT60 C: /FORCE

• changed the active partition


DISKPART
  select disk 0
  select partition 1
  active

However, it didn't work anyway. I had to do a repair because "BOOTMGR is missing". I believe I should have also copied bootmgr from Y: to C:, but I'm not sure if that was all I missed.

I'm still curious if this is a really bass-ackwards way of doing this process, and I would very much want to know where I went wrong.

Thanks for all the contributions.


I am going to answer this myself somewhat.

I ended up doing this:

• copied Y:\Boot\* to C:\Boot. Some files could not be copied. I expected this, and the next step should take care of it.

• exported system store

bcdedit /export C:\Boot\BCD

• changed Windows Boot Manager location

bcdedit /store C:\Boot\BCD /set {9dea862c-5cdd-4e70-acc1-f32b344d4795} device partition=C:

• changed Windows Memory Tester location

bcdedit /store C:\Boot\BCD /set {b2721d73-1db4-4c62-bf78-c548a880142d} device partition=C:

• changed Windows Legacy OS Loader location

bcdedit /store C:\Boot\BCD /set {466f5a88-0af2-4f76-9038-095b170dc21c} device partition=C:

• updated master boot code

Windows_7_DVD:\BOOT\BOOTSECT /NT60 C: /FORCE

• changed the active partition


DISKPART
  select disk 0
  select partition 1
  active

However, it didn't work anyway. I had to do a repair because "BOOTMGR is missing". I believe I should have also copied bootmgr from Y: to C:, but I'm not sure if that was all I missed.

I'm still curious if this is a really bass-ackwards way of doing this process, and I would very much want to know where I went wrong.

Thanks for all the contributions.

Source Link
J F
  • 1.6k
  • 13
  • 10

Remove XP from XP/W7 dual boot (move boot manager)

Given this BCDEDIT table:

Windows Boot Manager
--------------------
identifier              {bootmgr}
device                  partition=Y:
description             Windows Boot Manager
locale                  en-US
inherit                 {globalsettings}
default                 {current}
resumeobject            {3e25c382-bae5-11de-a75b-e7fc07f62dc4}
displayorder            {ntldr}
                        {current}
toolsdisplayorder       {memdiag}
timeout                 0

Windows Legacy OS Loader
------------------------
identifier              {ntldr}
device                  partition=Y:
path                    \ntldr
description             Earlier Version of Windows

Windows Boot Loader
-------------------
identifier              {current}
device                  partition=C:
path                    \Windows\system32\winload.exe
description             Windows 7
locale                  en-US
inherit                 {bootloadersettings}
recoverysequence        {3e25c384-bae5-11de-a75b-e7fc07f62dc4}
recoveryenabled         Yes
osdevice                partition=C:
systemroot              \Windows
resumeobject            {3e25c382-bae5-11de-a75b-e7fc07f62dc4}
nx                      OptIn

What should I do to remove the XP installation on Y: and completely remove that partition's dependency on booting, move the boot manager to C: and mark C: active (System) so I can boot from it?

The "guides" I've found are a bit contradictory and some use bcdedit, some use bcdboot and some a manual thing with bootrec /fixmbr + bootrec /fixboot triage.