Skip to main content
Typo
Source Link
Álvaro González
  • 1.6k
  • 3
  • 19
  • 30

I'm connected to a LAN with the aid of DCHPDHCP. Now and then, I need to reach a laptop someone brings to the office that's not configured to use DHCP. So far I need to do the following:

  1. Connect laptop to a network port
  2. Write down laptop's IP address and mask
  3. Change laptop's network settings to match our LAN
  4. Do my work
  5. Restore prior settings

In my old computer (Windows XP) I found a trick to configure my network card to use a second IP/mask simultaneously so I wouldn't need to fiddle with customer laptop settings. Sadly, I've lost the link and I can't find the appropriate search terms to find it again.

How can I accomplish it?


Edit: I found the link (Configuring Virtual IP Address) but the procedure is not working on my Windows 7 box: ipconfig /all doesn't show the new address and I can't even ping myself :(

I'm connected to a LAN with the aid of DCHP. Now and then, I need to reach a laptop someone brings to the office that's not configured to use DHCP. So far I need to do the following:

  1. Connect laptop to a network port
  2. Write down laptop's IP address and mask
  3. Change laptop's network settings to match our LAN
  4. Do my work
  5. Restore prior settings

In my old computer (Windows XP) I found a trick to configure my network card to use a second IP/mask simultaneously so I wouldn't need to fiddle with customer laptop settings. Sadly, I've lost the link and I can't find the appropriate search terms to find it again.

How can I accomplish it?


Edit: I found the link (Configuring Virtual IP Address) but the procedure is not working on my Windows 7 box: ipconfig /all doesn't show the new address and I can't even ping myself :(

I'm connected to a LAN with the aid of DHCP. Now and then, I need to reach a laptop someone brings to the office that's not configured to use DHCP. So far I need to do the following:

  1. Connect laptop to a network port
  2. Write down laptop's IP address and mask
  3. Change laptop's network settings to match our LAN
  4. Do my work
  5. Restore prior settings

In my old computer (Windows XP) I found a trick to configure my network card to use a second IP/mask simultaneously so I wouldn't need to fiddle with customer laptop settings. Sadly, I've lost the link and I can't find the appropriate search terms to find it again.

How can I accomplish it?


Edit: I found the link (Configuring Virtual IP Address) but the procedure is not working on my Windows 7 box: ipconfig /all doesn't show the new address and I can't even ping myself :(

added 372 characters in body
Source Link
Álvaro González
  • 1.6k
  • 3
  • 19
  • 30

I'm connected to a LAN with the aid of DCHP. Now and then, I need to reach a laptop someone brings to the office that's not configured to use DHCP. So far I need to do the following:

  1. Connect laptop to a network port
  2. Write down laptop's IP address and mask
  3. Change laptop's network settings to match our LAN
  4. Do my work
  5. Restore prior settings

In my old computer (Windows XP) I found a trick to configure my network card to use a second IP/mask simultaneously so I wouldn't need to fiddle with customer laptop settings. Sadly, I've lost the link and I can't find the appropriate search terms to find it again.

How can I accomplish it?


Edit: I found the link (Configuring Virtual IP Address) but the procedure is not working on my Windows 7 box: ipconfig /all doesn't show the new address and I can't even ping myself :(

I'm connected to a LAN with the aid of DCHP. Now and then, I need to reach a laptop someone brings to the office that's not configured to use DHCP. So far I need to do the following:

  1. Connect laptop to a network port
  2. Write down laptop's IP address and mask
  3. Change laptop's network settings to match our LAN
  4. Do my work
  5. Restore prior settings

In my old computer (Windows XP) I found a trick to configure my network card to use a second IP/mask simultaneously so I wouldn't need to fiddle with customer laptop settings. Sadly, I've lost the link and I can't find the appropriate search terms to find it again.

How can I accomplish it?

I'm connected to a LAN with the aid of DCHP. Now and then, I need to reach a laptop someone brings to the office that's not configured to use DHCP. So far I need to do the following:

  1. Connect laptop to a network port
  2. Write down laptop's IP address and mask
  3. Change laptop's network settings to match our LAN
  4. Do my work
  5. Restore prior settings

In my old computer (Windows XP) I found a trick to configure my network card to use a second IP/mask simultaneously so I wouldn't need to fiddle with customer laptop settings. Sadly, I've lost the link and I can't find the appropriate search terms to find it again.

How can I accomplish it?


Edit: I found the link (Configuring Virtual IP Address) but the procedure is not working on my Windows 7 box: ipconfig /all doesn't show the new address and I can't even ping myself :(

Source Link
Álvaro González
  • 1.6k
  • 3
  • 19
  • 30

Connect to two LAN networks with a single card

I'm connected to a LAN with the aid of DCHP. Now and then, I need to reach a laptop someone brings to the office that's not configured to use DHCP. So far I need to do the following:

  1. Connect laptop to a network port
  2. Write down laptop's IP address and mask
  3. Change laptop's network settings to match our LAN
  4. Do my work
  5. Restore prior settings

In my old computer (Windows XP) I found a trick to configure my network card to use a second IP/mask simultaneously so I wouldn't need to fiddle with customer laptop settings. Sadly, I've lost the link and I can't find the appropriate search terms to find it again.

How can I accomplish it?