Skip to main content
edited tags
Link
Hennes
  • 65.3k
  • 7
  • 113
  • 168
various cleanups (got info in Root Access chat)
Source Link
allquixotic
  • 34.7k
  • 7
  • 115
  • 148

Port Forwarding to a VMware Workstation Virtual Machine

I wantedam running VMware Workstation 8 (build 471480). I want to setup a small content server, mainly for images and such for my website, on my desktop in a virtual server (just for the heck of it)... I now have everything installed on a VMWare virtual machine running Ubuntu Server and already have the web server running. I have tested it and it works fine within the network on a local ip addresswhen accessing it from the host.

I now need to make it work on the internetpublic Internet and am planning on using noip.com, as i have done on many other occasions.

The problem is that my router is a Linksys E2500 and it only allows to port forewardforwarding to ipsIPs within its ip rangesubnet (i.e. 192192.168.2.**)

The host system connected to the linksysrouter has an ipIP of 192.168.2.177. The VMware Workstation 8 virtual machine has a Network type of NAT and the ipIP for the server on it is 192.168.43.130.

I have already forwarded port 80 and 22 to 192.168.2.177, but how can i get my Windows 7 system to then forward that protport to the server ip?

Any Help is appreciated!

Thanks!

Port Forwarding to a Virtual Machine

I wanted to setup a small content server, mainly for images and such for my website, on my desktop in a virtual server (just for the heck of it)... I now have everything installed on a VMWare virtual machine running Ubuntu Server and already have the web server running. I have tested it and it works fine within the network on a local ip address.

I now need to make it work on the internet and am planning on using noip.com, as i have done on many other occasions.

The problem is that my router is a Linksys E2500 and it only allows to port foreward to ips within its ip range (i.e. 192.168.2.**)

The system connected to the linksys has an ip of 192.168.2.177 The VMware virtual machine has a Network type of NAT and the ip for the server on it is 192.168.43.130

I have already forwarded port 80 and 22 to 192.168.2.177, but how can i get my Windows 7 system to then forward that prot to the server ip?

Any Help is appreciated!

Thanks!

Port Forwarding to a VMware Workstation Virtual Machine

I am running VMware Workstation 8 (build 471480). I want to setup a small content server, mainly for images and such for my website, on my desktop in a virtual server (just for the heck of it)... I now have everything installed on a VMWare virtual machine running Ubuntu Server and already have the web server running. I have tested it and it works fine within the network when accessing it from the host.

I now need to make it work on the public Internet and am planning on using noip.com, as i have done on many other occasions.

The problem is that my router is a Linksys E2500 and it only allows port forwarding to IPs within its subnet (192.168.2.**)

The host system connected to the router has an IP of 192.168.2.177. The VMware Workstation 8 virtual machine has a Network type of NAT and the IP for the server on it is 192.168.43.130.

I have already forwarded port 80 and 22 to 192.168.2.177, but how can i get my Windows 7 system to then forward that port to the server ip?

Source Link
ShadowZzz
  • 375
  • 1
  • 2
  • 9

Port Forwarding to a Virtual Machine

I wanted to setup a small content server, mainly for images and such for my website, on my desktop in a virtual server (just for the heck of it)... I now have everything installed on a VMWare virtual machine running Ubuntu Server and already have the web server running. I have tested it and it works fine within the network on a local ip address.

I now need to make it work on the internet and am planning on using noip.com, as i have done on many other occasions.

The problem is that my router is a Linksys E2500 and it only allows to port foreward to ips within its ip range (i.e. 192.168.2.**)

The system connected to the linksys has an ip of 192.168.2.177 The VMware virtual machine has a Network type of NAT and the ip for the server on it is 192.168.43.130

I have already forwarded port 80 and 22 to 192.168.2.177, but how can i get my Windows 7 system to then forward that prot to the server ip?

Any Help is appreciated!

Thanks!