Skip to main content

Timeline for mkfs.ext4 errors

Current License: CC BY-SA 3.0

5 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Apr 13, 2017 at 12:22 history edited CommunityBot
replaced http://askubuntu.com/ with https://askubuntu.com/
Mar 21, 2013 at 21:28 comment added Joseph My main os is ext4, but then again, I'm running the desktop version of the image I'm working with, and in the past on BT5, it worked fine. This is the out of the box VM too, which is why this is so obnoxious. I'm literally redoing exactly what I did for the previous version of the OS. forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?p=39232185, previously, this worked flawlessly.
Mar 21, 2013 at 21:23 comment added Zac B Is the image with a known-good filesystem already on it being mounted with -t ext4 or similar? To my knowledge, mounting any flat image as a loopback disk requires it to behave like a disk at least insofar as having a) a valid bootsector/geometry section, or b) something that spoofs that information to make it behave like a disk for anything (e.g. mkfs) to use it.
Mar 21, 2013 at 20:41 comment added Joseph None of this should apply. I'm working on the desktop VM version of Kali, working on tweaking the arm version of kali. Plus, I'm not doing anything overly complicated. Mount an image, Create a blank image, format it ext4, mount that image, copy. :-/
Mar 21, 2013 at 20:30 history answered Zac B CC BY-SA 3.0