Skip to main content
8 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Jan 10, 2018 at 10:47 comment added Jacques Just had mine tested because of similar symptoms... it's the motherboard!
Jun 9, 2017 at 4:33 comment added Dreaded semicolon I have an old PC that started doing that in the past year. but sometimes it can be solved with a hit on the side. also seems always bios needs to recover (likely cmos battery). I wonder if something touching case or just the hit "fixing" a component
Feb 10, 2015 at 21:40 comment added Quentin Skousen I had this exact same problem and it turned out to be a bad stick of memory. Thanks for your in-depth answer!
Feb 24, 2013 at 15:04 comment added Adambean @snakile I see you accepted my answer there. What was the issue, out of interest?
Feb 24, 2013 at 9:29 vote accept snakile
Feb 23, 2013 at 18:17 comment added Adambean Good addition there. I never thought to include that as I've never had a problem with a CPU overheating. @snakile should this be the case, I recommend you buy a tube (only the small 3 grams one needed) of Arctic Silver and use that between your CPU and its' heatsink. YouTube has lots of good guides on how to apply it, but the key point is thinner is better. I also find using a sandwich bag or latex glove is the easiest way to apply it.
Feb 23, 2013 at 17:31 comment added FreudianSlip Very good response - I'd only add the action to check that the CPU isn't overheating and causing it to bail. This might (if the BIOS setting to auto restart is set) be contributing to the reboot cycle. Ensure the CPU fan is spinning, the heat sink is clean and if you're able, ensure the thermal paste between the CPU and heat sink is good.
Feb 23, 2013 at 16:23 history answered Adambean CC BY-SA 3.0