Skip to main content

I thought I would share a simple method I used that requires no 3rd party software, just a few steps.

  1. Copy shortcut to chrome on your desktop
  2. Make as many copies of shortcut as there are profiles you need to pin
  3. (Optional) Name each copy the name of each profile
  4. Create a folder anywhere and move all of them into it (I created folder called "Profiles" in the C root)
  5. Now go into the properties of each shortcut and add the trigger to your profile

Example:

  1. Shortcut 1 - "C:\Users<yourusername>\AppData\Local\Google\Chrome SxS\Application\chrome.exe" --profile-directory="Default"
  2. Shortcut 2 - "C:\Users<yourusername>\AppData\Local\Google\Chrome SxS\Application\chrome.exe" --profile-directory="Profile 1"
  3. Shortcut 3 - "C:\Users<yourusername>\AppData\Local\Google\Chrome SxS\Application\chrome.exe" --profile-directory="Profile 2"

And so on...

  1. (optional) You can change each shortcut so they look different on taskbar or match your profile image (see screenshot)
  2. Right click desktop and go to New > Toolbar and browse to the folder where your shortcuts are located and add it
  3. From here that is it, you have all the profiles individually on the taskbar. I Removed all text and moved it to the left side of the taskbar and have all my icons small. Of course you don't get jumplist but I personally don't use them for chrome so it works for me :)

Screenshot: http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/20/pinningchromeprofiles.png/

I thought I would share a simple method I used that requires no 3rd party software, just a few steps.

  1. Copy shortcut to chrome on your desktop
  2. Make as many copies of shortcut as there are profiles you need to pin
  3. (Optional) Name each copy the name of each profile
  4. Create a folder anywhere and move all of them into it (I created folder called "Profiles" in the C root)
  5. Now go into the properties of each shortcut and add the trigger to your profile

Example:

  1. Shortcut 1 - "C:\Users<yourusername>\AppData\Local\Google\Chrome SxS\Application\chrome.exe" --profile-directory="Default"
  2. Shortcut 2 - "C:\Users<yourusername>\AppData\Local\Google\Chrome SxS\Application\chrome.exe" --profile-directory="Profile 1"
  3. Shortcut 3 - "C:\Users<yourusername>\AppData\Local\Google\Chrome SxS\Application\chrome.exe" --profile-directory="Profile 2"

And so on...

  1. (optional) You can change each shortcut so they look different on taskbar or match your profile image (see screenshot)
  2. Right click desktop and go to New > Toolbar and browse to the folder where your shortcuts are located and add it
  3. From here that is it, you have all the profiles individually on the taskbar. I Removed all text and moved it to the left side of the taskbar and have all my icons small. Of course you don't get jumplist but I personally don't use them for chrome so it works for me :)

Screenshot: http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/20/pinningchromeprofiles.png/

I thought I would share a simple method I used that requires no 3rd party software, just a few steps.

  1. Copy shortcut to chrome on your desktop
  2. Make as many copies of shortcut as there are profiles you need to pin
  3. (Optional) Name each copy the name of each profile
  4. Create a folder anywhere and move all of them into it (I created folder called "Profiles" in the C root)
  5. Now go into the properties of each shortcut and add the trigger to your profile

Example:

  1. Shortcut 1 - "C:\Users<yourusername>\AppData\Local\Google\Chrome SxS\Application\chrome.exe" --profile-directory="Default"
  2. Shortcut 2 - "C:\Users<yourusername>\AppData\Local\Google\Chrome SxS\Application\chrome.exe" --profile-directory="Profile 1"
  3. Shortcut 3 - "C:\Users<yourusername>\AppData\Local\Google\Chrome SxS\Application\chrome.exe" --profile-directory="Profile 2"

And so on...

  1. (optional) You can change each shortcut so they look different on taskbar or match your profile image (see screenshot)
  2. Right click desktop and go to New > Toolbar and browse to the folder where your shortcuts are located and add it
  3. From here that is it, you have all the profiles individually on the taskbar. I Removed all text and moved it to the left side of the taskbar and have all my icons small. Of course you don't get jumplist but I personally don't use them for chrome so it works for me :)

Screenshot:

I thought I would share a simple method I used that requires no 3rd party software, just a few steps.

  1. Copy shortcut to chrome on your desktop
  2. Make as many copies of shortcut as there are profiles you need to pin
  3. (Optional) Name each copy the name of each profile
  4. Create a folder anywhere and move all of them into it (I created folder called "Profiles" in the C root)
  5. Now go into the properties of each shortcut and add the trigger to your profile

Example: Shortcut 1 - "C:\Users<yourusername>\AppData\Local\Google\Chrome SxS\Application\chrome.exe" --profile-directory="Default" Shortcut 2 - "C:\Users<yourusername>\AppData\Local\Google\Chrome SxS\Application\chrome.exe" --profile-directory="Profile 1" Shortcut 3 - "C:\Users<yourusername>\AppData\Local\Google\Chrome SxS\Application\chrome.exe" --profile-directory="Profile 2"

  1. Shortcut 1 - "C:\Users<yourusername>\AppData\Local\Google\Chrome SxS\Application\chrome.exe" --profile-directory="Default"
  2. Shortcut 2 - "C:\Users<yourusername>\AppData\Local\Google\Chrome SxS\Application\chrome.exe" --profile-directory="Profile 1"
  3. Shortcut 3 - "C:\Users<yourusername>\AppData\Local\Google\Chrome SxS\Application\chrome.exe" --profile-directory="Profile 2"

And so on...

  1. (optional) You can change each shortcut so they look different on taskbar or match your profile image (see screenshot)
  2. Right click desktop and go to New > Toolbar and browse to the folder where your shortcuts are located and add it
  3. From here that is it, you have all the profiles individually on the taskbar. I Removed all text and moved it to the left side of the taskbar and have all my icons small. Of course you don't get jumplist but I personally don't use them for chrome so it works for me :)

Screenshot: http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/20/pinningchromeprofiles.png/

I thought I would share a simple method I used that requires no 3rd party software, just a few steps.

  1. Copy shortcut to chrome on your desktop
  2. Make as many copies of shortcut as there are profiles you need to pin
  3. (Optional) Name each copy the name of each profile
  4. Create a folder anywhere and move all of them into it (I created folder called "Profiles" in the C root)
  5. Now go into the properties of each shortcut and add the trigger to your profile

Example: Shortcut 1 - "C:\Users<yourusername>\AppData\Local\Google\Chrome SxS\Application\chrome.exe" --profile-directory="Default" Shortcut 2 - "C:\Users<yourusername>\AppData\Local\Google\Chrome SxS\Application\chrome.exe" --profile-directory="Profile 1" Shortcut 3 - "C:\Users<yourusername>\AppData\Local\Google\Chrome SxS\Application\chrome.exe" --profile-directory="Profile 2"

And so on...

  1. (optional) You can change each shortcut so they look different on taskbar or match your profile image (see screenshot)
  2. Right click desktop and go to New > Toolbar and browse to the folder where your shortcuts are located and add it
  3. From here that is it, you have all the profiles individually on the taskbar. I Removed all text and moved it to the left side of the taskbar and have all my icons small. Of course you don't get jumplist but I personally don't use them for chrome so it works for me :)

Screenshot: http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/20/pinningchromeprofiles.png/

I thought I would share a simple method I used that requires no 3rd party software, just a few steps.

  1. Copy shortcut to chrome on your desktop
  2. Make as many copies of shortcut as there are profiles you need to pin
  3. (Optional) Name each copy the name of each profile
  4. Create a folder anywhere and move all of them into it (I created folder called "Profiles" in the C root)
  5. Now go into the properties of each shortcut and add the trigger to your profile

Example:

  1. Shortcut 1 - "C:\Users<yourusername>\AppData\Local\Google\Chrome SxS\Application\chrome.exe" --profile-directory="Default"
  2. Shortcut 2 - "C:\Users<yourusername>\AppData\Local\Google\Chrome SxS\Application\chrome.exe" --profile-directory="Profile 1"
  3. Shortcut 3 - "C:\Users<yourusername>\AppData\Local\Google\Chrome SxS\Application\chrome.exe" --profile-directory="Profile 2"

And so on...

  1. (optional) You can change each shortcut so they look different on taskbar or match your profile image (see screenshot)
  2. Right click desktop and go to New > Toolbar and browse to the folder where your shortcuts are located and add it
  3. From here that is it, you have all the profiles individually on the taskbar. I Removed all text and moved it to the left side of the taskbar and have all my icons small. Of course you don't get jumplist but I personally don't use them for chrome so it works for me :)

Screenshot: http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/20/pinningchromeprofiles.png/

Source Link

I thought I would share a simple method I used that requires no 3rd party software, just a few steps.

  1. Copy shortcut to chrome on your desktop
  2. Make as many copies of shortcut as there are profiles you need to pin
  3. (Optional) Name each copy the name of each profile
  4. Create a folder anywhere and move all of them into it (I created folder called "Profiles" in the C root)
  5. Now go into the properties of each shortcut and add the trigger to your profile

Example: Shortcut 1 - "C:\Users<yourusername>\AppData\Local\Google\Chrome SxS\Application\chrome.exe" --profile-directory="Default" Shortcut 2 - "C:\Users<yourusername>\AppData\Local\Google\Chrome SxS\Application\chrome.exe" --profile-directory="Profile 1" Shortcut 3 - "C:\Users<yourusername>\AppData\Local\Google\Chrome SxS\Application\chrome.exe" --profile-directory="Profile 2"

And so on...

  1. (optional) You can change each shortcut so they look different on taskbar or match your profile image (see screenshot)
  2. Right click desktop and go to New > Toolbar and browse to the folder where your shortcuts are located and add it
  3. From here that is it, you have all the profiles individually on the taskbar. I Removed all text and moved it to the left side of the taskbar and have all my icons small. Of course you don't get jumplist but I personally don't use them for chrome so it works for me :)

Screenshot: http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/20/pinningchromeprofiles.png/