Skip to main content
Question Protected by CommunityBot
Copy edited (e.g. ref. <https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Microsoft_Windows>). Added some context.
Source Link
Peter Mortensen
  • 12.2k
  • 23
  • 72
  • 90

Where tocan I find windowsWindows keyboard scancode registry information?

I am in the process of remapping some keys on my Windows 7 7 keyboard.

I have done the following (in a .reg file):

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Keyboard Layout]
"Scancode Map"=hex:00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,02,00,00,00,1d,00,3a,00,00,00,00,00 

I am interested in being able to remap other keys. However, I am having a heck of a time finding the specific scan codes to do this.

Is there a listing of these scan codes somewhere? I've spent a fair bit of time trying to find information and other than the caps/control I cannot seem to find them. I would like a listing of all scan codes - in a format which makes sense for remapping.

The specific keys I am interested in are:

Where to find windows keyboard scancode registry information?

I am in the process of remapping some keys on my Windows 7 keyboard.

I have done the following (in a .reg file):

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Keyboard Layout]
"Scancode Map"=hex:00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,02,00,00,00,1d,00,3a,00,00,00,00,00 

I am interested in being able to remap other keys. However, I am having a heck of a time finding the specific scan codes to do this.

Is there a listing of these scan codes somewhere? I've spent a fair bit of time trying to find information and other than the caps/control I cannot seem to find them. I would like a listing of all scan codes - in a format which makes sense for remapping.

The specific keys I am interested in are:

  • Menu button (wtf windows)
  • windows key
  • alt
  • shift
  • function
  • insert
  • pause

Where can I find Windows keyboard scancode registry information?

I am in the process of remapping some keys on my Windows 7 keyboard.

I have done the following (in a .reg file):

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Keyboard Layout]
"Scancode Map"=hex:00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,02,00,00,00,1d,00,3a,00,00,00,00,00 

I am interested in being able to remap other keys. However, I am having a heck of a time finding the specific scan codes to do this.

Is there a listing of these scan codes somewhere? I've spent a fair bit of time trying to find information and other than the caps/control I cannot seem to find them. I would like a listing of all scan codes - in a format which makes sense for remapping.

The specific keys I am interested in are:

Source Link
enderland
  • 2k
  • 5
  • 26
  • 43

Where to find windows keyboard scancode registry information?

I am in the process of remapping some keys on my Windows 7 keyboard.

I have done the following (in a .reg file):

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Keyboard Layout]
"Scancode Map"=hex:00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,02,00,00,00,1d,00,3a,00,00,00,00,00 

I am interested in being able to remap other keys. However, I am having a heck of a time finding the specific scan codes to do this.

Is there a listing of these scan codes somewhere? I've spent a fair bit of time trying to find information and other than the caps/control I cannot seem to find them. I would like a listing of all scan codes - in a format which makes sense for remapping.

The specific keys I am interested in are:

  • Menu button (wtf windows)
  • windows key
  • alt
  • shift
  • function
  • insert
  • pause