Skip to main content
deleted 197 characters in body
Source Link
Dave M
  • 13.2k
  • 25
  • 37
  • 48

Test on XP: driver gets installed successfully, but weird I cannot connect to device. I see the handset connection window at least, it says disconnected, but there's no "connect" button.<<<

I confirm this. I can't see any services available under "Properties, Services" tab either. If either my Sandstrom bluetooth headphones or my Sony audio dock are freshly paired and the services tab is open for a few seconds there is a flash of "Paired, Connected" under the audio device icon in the device control panel - but it disappears within a second and reverts to "Paired". I've tried the supplied v2 software/drivers for XP and the downloaded v4 with no different result.

I have the Trust Bluetooth 3.0 adapter and its Bluetooth Suite software and with a fresh install the adapter works as expected with both my Bluetooth audio devices. I replicated all this on a second Win XP SP3 PC too.

I have sent details to Trust Support but given other people's problems am not expecting much. I'm pretty sure that it is not your heaphones at fault, and it is probably the Trust adapter. Unfortunately I bought two!

If I don't get joy from Trust soon I may try running the 4.0 adapter with the 3.0 Bluetooth software suite under XP.

I bought the additional Bluetooth 4.0 adapters because Trust claims they are windows 8 compatible but they don't make such a claim for the 3.0 adapter!

It may help others to know that I was previously able to install the v3 software/drivers into Windows 8 Pro on my laptop and to use the Bluetooth 3.0 adapter successfully with my Sony audio dock, but I had to unpack the driver package in Windows 7 compatability mode before I could install it. The troubleshooter's suggested Windows XP compatability mode unpack doesn't work.

Test on XP: driver gets installed successfully, but weird I cannot connect to device. I see the handset connection window at least, it says disconnected, but there's no "connect" button.<<<

I confirm this. I can't see any services available under "Properties, Services" tab either. If either my Sandstrom bluetooth headphones or my Sony audio dock are freshly paired and the services tab is open for a few seconds there is a flash of "Paired, Connected" under the audio device icon in the device control panel - but it disappears within a second and reverts to "Paired". I've tried the supplied v2 software/drivers for XP and the downloaded v4 with no different result.

I have the Trust Bluetooth 3.0 adapter and its Bluetooth Suite software and with a fresh install the adapter works as expected with both my Bluetooth audio devices. I replicated all this on a second Win XP SP3 PC too.

I have sent details to Trust Support but given other people's problems am not expecting much. I'm pretty sure that it is not your heaphones at fault, and it is probably the Trust adapter. Unfortunately I bought two!

If I don't get joy from Trust soon I may try running the 4.0 adapter with the 3.0 Bluetooth software suite under XP.

I bought the additional Bluetooth 4.0 adapters because Trust claims they are windows 8 compatible but they don't make such a claim for the 3.0 adapter!

It may help others to know that I was previously able to install the v3 software/drivers into Windows 8 Pro on my laptop and to use the Bluetooth 3.0 adapter successfully with my Sony audio dock, but I had to unpack the driver package in Windows 7 compatability mode before I could install it. The troubleshooter's suggested Windows XP compatability mode unpack doesn't work.

I confirm this. I can't see any services available under "Properties, Services" tab either. If either my Sandstrom bluetooth headphones or my Sony audio dock are freshly paired and the services tab is open for a few seconds there is a flash of "Paired, Connected" under the audio device icon in the device control panel - but it disappears within a second and reverts to "Paired". I've tried the supplied v2 software/drivers for XP and the downloaded v4 with no different result.

I have the Trust Bluetooth 3.0 adapter and its Bluetooth Suite software and with a fresh install the adapter works as expected with both my Bluetooth audio devices. I replicated all this on a second Win XP SP3 PC too.

I have sent details to Trust Support but given other people's problems am not expecting much. I'm pretty sure that it is not your heaphones at fault, and it is probably the Trust adapter. Unfortunately I bought two!

If I don't get joy from Trust soon I may try running the 4.0 adapter with the 3.0 Bluetooth software suite under XP.

I bought the additional Bluetooth 4.0 adapters because Trust claims they are windows 8 compatible but they don't make such a claim for the 3.0 adapter!

It may help others to know that I was previously able to install the v3 software/drivers into Windows 8 Pro on my laptop and to use the Bluetooth 3.0 adapter successfully with my Sony audio dock, but I had to unpack the driver package in Windows 7 compatability mode before I could install it. The troubleshooter's suggested Windows XP compatability mode unpack doesn't work.

Source Link
David
  • 11
  • 1

Test on XP: driver gets installed successfully, but weird I cannot connect to device. I see the handset connection window at least, it says disconnected, but there's no "connect" button.<<<

I confirm this. I can't see any services available under "Properties, Services" tab either. If either my Sandstrom bluetooth headphones or my Sony audio dock are freshly paired and the services tab is open for a few seconds there is a flash of "Paired, Connected" under the audio device icon in the device control panel - but it disappears within a second and reverts to "Paired". I've tried the supplied v2 software/drivers for XP and the downloaded v4 with no different result.

I have the Trust Bluetooth 3.0 adapter and its Bluetooth Suite software and with a fresh install the adapter works as expected with both my Bluetooth audio devices. I replicated all this on a second Win XP SP3 PC too.

I have sent details to Trust Support but given other people's problems am not expecting much. I'm pretty sure that it is not your heaphones at fault, and it is probably the Trust adapter. Unfortunately I bought two!

If I don't get joy from Trust soon I may try running the 4.0 adapter with the 3.0 Bluetooth software suite under XP.

I bought the additional Bluetooth 4.0 adapters because Trust claims they are windows 8 compatible but they don't make such a claim for the 3.0 adapter!

It may help others to know that I was previously able to install the v3 software/drivers into Windows 8 Pro on my laptop and to use the Bluetooth 3.0 adapter successfully with my Sony audio dock, but I had to unpack the driver package in Windows 7 compatability mode before I could install it. The troubleshooter's suggested Windows XP compatability mode unpack doesn't work.