Skip to main content
replaced http://superuser.com/ with https://superuser.com/
Source Link

I have the following copy and paste issue since yesterday. Probably it started when I was trying to edit a locked Excel-doc which i found on a shared server (that is - it was not created with my installed Excel). Similar but different from the thread Excel copy-paste is only copying as values, but I want it to copy formulasExcel copy-paste is only copying as values, but I want it to copy formulas (which was related to Skype, which I don't have on this machine).

Steps to produce issue:

1. Suppose A1 is " = 1 + 1 ".
The sheet shows 2 in cell A1, as it should.

2. Click on cell A1 and press Ctrl+C in order to copy the cell.

3. Click on cell A2 and press Ctrl+V in order to paste what is copied.

4. ---> The formula of A2 is 2 and not " = 1 + 1 ".

What I have tried - without success:

1. Change "Calculation options" in the excel folder "Formulas" from "Automatic" to "Manual" and back again..
2. Restart Excel - starting a new doc.
3. Restart Excel - opening an old doc.
4. Paste special giving the paste alternatives Text or Unicode.
5. Google searches - it seems to be a common issue in particular it occurs for [Skype users][2] who have a special plug-in. 

2-3 above made it work for a while, but not for long (could it be a service ???)!

Edit Also, 4 is worthless because if I display the clipboard in order to show what is copied into the memory, then nothing but the value of the cell is displayed in the clipboard!

My environment:

  1. I remote virtual machine which use Win7 and Office 2007.
  2. I do not have Skype on the virtual machine (but I do have it on the local remoting computer)

Do you have any idea?

I have the following copy and paste issue since yesterday. Probably it started when I was trying to edit a locked Excel-doc which i found on a shared server (that is - it was not created with my installed Excel). Similar but different from the thread Excel copy-paste is only copying as values, but I want it to copy formulas (which was related to Skype, which I don't have on this machine).

Steps to produce issue:

1. Suppose A1 is " = 1 + 1 ".
The sheet shows 2 in cell A1, as it should.

2. Click on cell A1 and press Ctrl+C in order to copy the cell.

3. Click on cell A2 and press Ctrl+V in order to paste what is copied.

4. ---> The formula of A2 is 2 and not " = 1 + 1 ".

What I have tried - without success:

1. Change "Calculation options" in the excel folder "Formulas" from "Automatic" to "Manual" and back again..
2. Restart Excel - starting a new doc.
3. Restart Excel - opening an old doc.
4. Paste special giving the paste alternatives Text or Unicode.
5. Google searches - it seems to be a common issue in particular it occurs for [Skype users][2] who have a special plug-in. 

2-3 above made it work for a while, but not for long (could it be a service ???)!

Edit Also, 4 is worthless because if I display the clipboard in order to show what is copied into the memory, then nothing but the value of the cell is displayed in the clipboard!

My environment:

  1. I remote virtual machine which use Win7 and Office 2007.
  2. I do not have Skype on the virtual machine (but I do have it on the local remoting computer)

Do you have any idea?

I have the following copy and paste issue since yesterday. Probably it started when I was trying to edit a locked Excel-doc which i found on a shared server (that is - it was not created with my installed Excel). Similar but different from the thread Excel copy-paste is only copying as values, but I want it to copy formulas (which was related to Skype, which I don't have on this machine).

Steps to produce issue:

1. Suppose A1 is " = 1 + 1 ".
The sheet shows 2 in cell A1, as it should.

2. Click on cell A1 and press Ctrl+C in order to copy the cell.

3. Click on cell A2 and press Ctrl+V in order to paste what is copied.

4. ---> The formula of A2 is 2 and not " = 1 + 1 ".

What I have tried - without success:

1. Change "Calculation options" in the excel folder "Formulas" from "Automatic" to "Manual" and back again..
2. Restart Excel - starting a new doc.
3. Restart Excel - opening an old doc.
4. Paste special giving the paste alternatives Text or Unicode.
5. Google searches - it seems to be a common issue in particular it occurs for [Skype users][2] who have a special plug-in. 

2-3 above made it work for a while, but not for long (could it be a service ???)!

Edit Also, 4 is worthless because if I display the clipboard in order to show what is copied into the memory, then nothing but the value of the cell is displayed in the clipboard!

My environment:

  1. I remote virtual machine which use Win7 and Office 2007.
  2. I do not have Skype on the virtual machine (but I do have it on the local remoting computer)

Do you have any idea?

Tweeted twitter.com/#!/StackSuper_User/status/298779261307854850
improved formatting
Source Link

I have the following copy and paste issue since yesterday. Probably it started when I was trying to edit a locked Excel-doc which i found on a shared server (that is - it was not created with my installed Excel). Similar but different from the thread Excel copy-paste is only copying as values, but I want it to copy formulas (which was related to Skype, which I don't have on this machine).

Steps to produce issue:

1. Suppose A1 is " = 1 + 1 ".
The sheet shows 2 in cell A1, as it should.

2. Click on cell A1 and press Ctrl+C in order to copy the cell.

3. Click on cell A2 and press Ctrl+V in order to paste what is copied.

4. ---> The formula of A2 is 2 and not " = 1 + 1 ".

What I have tried - without success:

1. Change "Calculation options" in the excel folder "Formulas" from "Automatic" to "Manual" and back again..
2. Restart Excel - starting a new doc.
3. Restart Excel - opening an old doc.
4. Paste special giving the paste alternatives Text or Unicode.
5. Google searches - it seems to be a common issue in particular it occurs for [Skype users][2] who have a special plug-in. 

2-3 above made it work for a while, but not for long (could it be a service ???)!

EditEdit Also, 4 is worthless because if I display the clipboard in order to show what is copied into the memory, then nothing but the value of the cell is displayed in the clipboard!nothing but the value of the cell is displayed in the clipboard!

My environment:

  1. I remote virtual machine which use Win7 and Office 2007.
  2. I do not have Skype on the virtual machine (but I do have it on the local remoting computer)

Do you have any idea?

I have the following copy and paste issue since yesterday. Probably it started when I was trying to edit a locked Excel-doc which i found on a shared server (that is - it was not created with my installed Excel). Similar but different from the thread Excel copy-paste is only copying as values, but I want it to copy formulas (which was related to Skype, which I don't have on this machine).

Steps to produce issue:

1. Suppose A1 is " = 1 + 1 ".
The sheet shows 2 in cell A1, as it should.

2. Click on cell A1 and press Ctrl+C in order to copy the cell.

3. Click on cell A2 and press Ctrl+V in order to paste what is copied.

4. ---> The formula of A2 is 2 and not " = 1 + 1 ".

What I have tried - without success:

1. Change "Calculation options" in the excel folder "Formulas" from "Automatic" to "Manual" and back again..
2. Restart Excel - starting a new doc.
3. Restart Excel - opening an old doc.
4. Paste special giving the paste alternatives Text or Unicode.
5. Google searches - it seems to be a common issue in particular it occurs for [Skype users][2] who have a special plug-in. 

2-3 above made it work for a while, but not for long (could it be a service ???)!

Edit Also, 4 is worthless because if I display the clipboard in order to show what is copied into the memory, then nothing but the value of the cell is displayed in the clipboard!

My environment:

  1. I remote virtual machine which use Win7 and Office 2007.
  2. I do not have Skype on the virtual machine (but I do have it on the local remoting computer)

Do you have any idea?

I have the following copy and paste issue since yesterday. Probably it started when I was trying to edit a locked Excel-doc which i found on a shared server (that is - it was not created with my installed Excel). Similar but different from the thread Excel copy-paste is only copying as values, but I want it to copy formulas (which was related to Skype, which I don't have on this machine).

Steps to produce issue:

1. Suppose A1 is " = 1 + 1 ".
The sheet shows 2 in cell A1, as it should.

2. Click on cell A1 and press Ctrl+C in order to copy the cell.

3. Click on cell A2 and press Ctrl+V in order to paste what is copied.

4. ---> The formula of A2 is 2 and not " = 1 + 1 ".

What I have tried - without success:

1. Change "Calculation options" in the excel folder "Formulas" from "Automatic" to "Manual" and back again..
2. Restart Excel - starting a new doc.
3. Restart Excel - opening an old doc.
4. Paste special giving the paste alternatives Text or Unicode.
5. Google searches - it seems to be a common issue in particular it occurs for [Skype users][2] who have a special plug-in. 

2-3 above made it work for a while, but not for long (could it be a service ???)!

Edit Also, 4 is worthless because if I display the clipboard in order to show what is copied into the memory, then nothing but the value of the cell is displayed in the clipboard!

My environment:

  1. I remote virtual machine which use Win7 and Office 2007.
  2. I do not have Skype on the virtual machine (but I do have it on the local remoting computer)

Do you have any idea?

Emphasized conditions...
Source Link

I have the following copy and paste issue since yesterday. Probably it started when I was trying to edit a locked Excel-doc which i found on a shared server (that is - it was not created with my installed Excel). Similar but different from the thread Excel copy-paste is only copying as values, but I want it to copy formulas (which was related to Skype, which I don't have on this machine).

Steps to produce issue:

1. Suppose A1 is " = 1 + 1 ".
The sheet shows 2 in cell A1, as it should.

2. Click on cell A1 and press Ctrl+C in order to copy the cell.

3. Click on cell A2 and press Ctrl+V in order to paste what is copied.

4. ---> The formula of A2 is 2 and not " = 1 + 1 ".

What I have tried - without success:

1. Change "Calculation options" in the excel folder "Formulas" from "Automatic" to "Manual" and back again..
2. Restart Excel - starting a new doc.
3. Restart Excel - opening an old doc.
4. Paste special giving the paste alternatives Text or Unicode.
5. Google searches - it seems to be a common issue in particular it occurs for [Skype users][2] who have a special plug-in. 

2-3 above made it work for a while, but not for long (could it be a service ???)!

Edit Also, 4 is worthless because if I display the clipboard in order to show what is copied into the memory, then nothing but the value of the cell is displayed in the clipboard!

My environment:

  1. I remote virtual machine which use Win7 and Office 2007.
  2. I do not have Skype on the virtual machine (but I do have it on the local remoting computer)

Do you have any idea?

I have the following copy and paste issue since yesterday. Probably it started when I was trying to edit a locked Excel-doc which i found on a shared server (that is - it was not created with my installed Excel). Similar but different from the thread Excel copy-paste is only copying as values, but I want it to copy formulas.

Steps to produce issue:

1. Suppose A1 is " = 1 + 1 ".
The sheet shows 2 in cell A1, as it should.

2. Click on cell A1 and press Ctrl+C in order to copy the cell.

3. Click on cell A2 and press Ctrl+V in order to paste what is copied.

4. ---> The formula of A2 is 2 and not " = 1 + 1 ".

What I have tried - without success:

1. Change "Calculation options" in the excel folder "Formulas" from "Automatic" to "Manual" and back again..
2. Restart Excel - starting a new doc.
3. Restart Excel - opening an old doc.
4. Paste special giving the paste alternatives Text or Unicode.
5. Google searches - it seems to be a common issue in particular it occurs for [Skype users][2] who have a special plug-in. 

2-3 above made it work for a while, but not for long (could it be a service ???)!

Edit Also, 4 is worthless because if I display the clipboard in order to show what is copied into the memory, then nothing but the value of the cell is displayed in the clipboard!

My environment:

  1. I remote virtual machine which use Win7 and Office 2007.
  2. I do not have Skype on the virtual machine (but I do have it on the local remoting computer)

Do you have any idea?

I have the following copy and paste issue since yesterday. Probably it started when I was trying to edit a locked Excel-doc which i found on a shared server (that is - it was not created with my installed Excel). Similar but different from the thread Excel copy-paste is only copying as values, but I want it to copy formulas (which was related to Skype, which I don't have on this machine).

Steps to produce issue:

1. Suppose A1 is " = 1 + 1 ".
The sheet shows 2 in cell A1, as it should.

2. Click on cell A1 and press Ctrl+C in order to copy the cell.

3. Click on cell A2 and press Ctrl+V in order to paste what is copied.

4. ---> The formula of A2 is 2 and not " = 1 + 1 ".

What I have tried - without success:

1. Change "Calculation options" in the excel folder "Formulas" from "Automatic" to "Manual" and back again..
2. Restart Excel - starting a new doc.
3. Restart Excel - opening an old doc.
4. Paste special giving the paste alternatives Text or Unicode.
5. Google searches - it seems to be a common issue in particular it occurs for [Skype users][2] who have a special plug-in. 

2-3 above made it work for a while, but not for long (could it be a service ???)!

Edit Also, 4 is worthless because if I display the clipboard in order to show what is copied into the memory, then nothing but the value of the cell is displayed in the clipboard!

My environment:

  1. I remote virtual machine which use Win7 and Office 2007.
  2. I do not have Skype on the virtual machine (but I do have it on the local remoting computer)

Do you have any idea?

Fixed the display..
Source Link
Loading
Source Link
Loading