Skip to main content
replaced 'dell' with 'dell-latitude' tag
Link
magicandre1981
  • 98.6k
  • 30
  • 182
  • 248
Source Link
JeffCren
  • 111
  • 1
  • 2

Hardware Virtualization on Dell Latitude E6500

I have a Dell Latitude E6500 with an Intel Core2Duo processor and 4 GB RAM. I am running Windows 8 Pro 64-bit. In the BIOS (revision A25) settings, I have enabled Intel Virtualization Technology, but not VT for Direct I/O or Trusted Execution.

I have installed Visual Studio 2012 Ultimate and the Windows Phone 8.0 SDK, however, at the end of the installation, I get a dialog that says "This computer does not support hardware virtualization, which means Windows Phone Emulator 8.0 can't run on this PC."

I've tried various combinations of the Intel virtualization settings (VT, VT for Direct I/O, Trusted Execution) to no avail.

Why am I getting this message? Is the Intel Virtualization Technology not really hardware virtualization? Do I need more RAM (I can have up to 8 GB)?