Skip to main content
edited tags
Link
fixer1234
  • 27.6k
  • 61
  • 78
  • 123
Copy edited.
Source Link
Peter Mortensen
  • 12.2k
  • 23
  • 72
  • 90

I'm wondering howHow do file system scans (like CHKDSKCHKDSK or fsckfsck) really work? I know there are full applications with lots of options, but how do they scan for "bad" sectors? whatWhat are they doing when scanning? howHow do they know they found a "bad" sector?

I'm wondering how do file system scans (like CHKDSK or fsck) really work? I know there full applications with lots of options, but how do they scan for "bad" sectors? what are they doing when scanning? how do they know they found a "bad" sector?

How do file system scans (like CHKDSK or fsck) really work? I know there are full applications with lots of options, but how do they scan for "bad" sectors? What are they doing when scanning? How do they know they found a "bad" sector?

Source Link
Mike
  • 1.1k
  • 4
  • 15
  • 25

What does a file system scan really do?

I'm wondering how do file system scans (like CHKDSK or fsck) really work? I know there full applications with lots of options, but how do they scan for "bad" sectors? what are they doing when scanning? how do they know they found a "bad" sector?