Skip to main content
Canged heading to make more specific
Link
ricardo
  • 209
  • 3
  • 12

How do I change or edit aVim Homebrew recipe?

showed some working for a solution
Source Link
ricardo
  • 209
  • 3
  • 12

I use a Vim plugin that requires +clientserver, and the default brew Vim recipe does not include the appropriate flags, so I'm trying to add it to the ./configure step.

I tried building Vim from source, but without success. I would like to try either using an alternate recipe -- there's one with the flags set that I require here -- or perhaps editing the Homebrew recipe itself ... however I am unsure how to proceed.

Can someone please give me some pointers to help me get started using either the alternate recipe, or with editing the Homebrew recipe itself?

Ultimately, I would like to learn how to do both things.


to compile terminal vim with the clientserver features, i did the following:

brew edit vim

and edited the ./configure options as follows (removed --enable-gui=no, and --without-x, and added --enable-gui=gtk2):

system "./configure", "--prefix=#{HOMEBREW_PREFIX}",
                      "--mandir=#{man}",
                      "--disable-nls",
                      "--enable-multibyte",
                      "--with-tlib=ncurses",
                      "--enable-cscope",
                      "--enable-rubyinterp",                            
                      "--enable-pythoninterp",
                      "--enable-gui=gtk2",
                      "--with-features=huge",
                       *language_opts

Then rvm use system (a ruby bug workaround that's always required for brewing vim); then brew install vim; and finally brew unlink vim && brew link vim.

To install from the target URL:

brew install https://gist.github.com/2004942/vim.rb

(though in this case, it is not what i did).

I use a Vim plugin that requires +clientserver, and the default brew Vim recipe does not include the appropriate flags, so I'm trying to add it to the ./configure step.

I tried building Vim from source, but without success. I would like to try either using an alternate recipe -- there's one with the flags set that I require here -- or perhaps editing the Homebrew recipe itself ... however I am unsure how to proceed.

Can someone please give me some pointers to help me get started using either the alternate recipe, or with editing the Homebrew recipe itself?

Ultimately, I would like to learn how to do both things.

I use a Vim plugin that requires +clientserver, and the default brew Vim recipe does not include the appropriate flags, so I'm trying to add it to the ./configure step.

I tried building Vim from source, but without success. I would like to try either using an alternate recipe -- there's one with the flags set that I require here -- or perhaps editing the Homebrew recipe itself ... however I am unsure how to proceed.

Can someone please give me some pointers to help me get started using either the alternate recipe, or with editing the Homebrew recipe itself?

Ultimately, I would like to learn how to do both things.


to compile terminal vim with the clientserver features, i did the following:

brew edit vim

and edited the ./configure options as follows (removed --enable-gui=no, and --without-x, and added --enable-gui=gtk2):

system "./configure", "--prefix=#{HOMEBREW_PREFIX}",
                      "--mandir=#{man}",
                      "--disable-nls",
                      "--enable-multibyte",
                      "--with-tlib=ncurses",
                      "--enable-cscope",
                      "--enable-rubyinterp",                            
                      "--enable-pythoninterp",
                      "--enable-gui=gtk2",
                      "--with-features=huge",
                       *language_opts

Then rvm use system (a ruby bug workaround that's always required for brewing vim); then brew install vim; and finally brew unlink vim && brew link vim.

To install from the target URL:

brew install https://gist.github.com/2004942/vim.rb

(though in this case, it is not what i did).

edited tags
Link
slhck
  • 230.2k
  • 71
  • 621
  • 603
Source Link
ricardo
  • 209
  • 3
  • 12
Loading