Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

6
  • @romainl not an option for me, unfortunately. I had been using mvim, but am trying a tmux solution and that's what is pushing me into terminal vim.
    – ricardo
    Commented Dec 29, 2012 at 20:34
  • 1
    So what? mvim -v runs MacVim's CLI vim executable in your terminal. Building Vim on Mac OS X is an almost completely pointless exercise.
    – romainl
    Commented Dec 29, 2012 at 21:00
  • +1 i was totally unaware. i guess the point is that i've now learned something new about homebrew. starting mvim -v --servername foo just failed to attach a server name -- what am i missing?
    – ricardo
    Commented Dec 29, 2012 at 21:32
  • I'm not in front of my mac so I can't help further.
    – romainl
    Commented Dec 29, 2012 at 21:52
  • You can install MacVim to replace your system vim so you don't have to run mvim. brew install macvim --override-system-vim. Also if you are using tmux you might also want the pasteboard support. I think it is brew install reattach-to-namespace. Don't have my notes with me now.
    – Jason
    Commented Dec 30, 2012 at 1:43