Skip to main content

I had a seperate btrfs partition for my home directory in my old ubuntu instalation. I "upgraded" the installation by installing a clean system on my ext4 partition which got formatted and mounted as //. As /home/home I've just reused the old partition without formatting it (it worked out on another machine the same way before, the only different thing is, that I've picked the same username).

Now I ended up with a clean home directory without any of the old files (I have backups, but maybe not all of the files). If I execute dfdf I get:

Filesystem     1K-Blocks  Used     Available   Used%  Mountpoint
/dev/sdb6      386623488 169526740 202649500   46%    /home

Any Ideas how I can revoke all previous writes back to the installation point or if this is possible? Unfortunately I have no explicit snapshot.

I had a seperate btrfs partition for my home directory in my old ubuntu instalation. I "upgraded" the installation by installing a clean system on my ext4 partition which got formatted and mounted as /. As /home I've just reused the old partition without formatting it (it worked out on another machine the same way before, the only different thing is, that I've picked the same username).

Now I ended up with a clean home directory without any of the old files (I have backups, but maybe not all of the files). If I execute df I get:

Filesystem     1K-Blocks  Used     Available   Used%  Mountpoint
/dev/sdb6      386623488 169526740 202649500   46%    /home

Any Ideas how I can revoke all previous writes back to the installation point or if this is possible? Unfortunately I have no explicit snapshot.

I had a seperate btrfs partition for my home directory in my old ubuntu instalation. I "upgraded" the installation by installing a clean system on my ext4 partition which got formatted and mounted as /. As /home I've just reused the old partition without formatting it (it worked out on another machine the same way before, the only different thing is, that I've picked the same username).

Now I ended up with a clean home directory without any of the old files (I have backups, but maybe not all of the files). If I execute df I get:

Filesystem     1K-Blocks  Used     Available   Used%  Mountpoint
/dev/sdb6      386623488 169526740 202649500   46%    /home

Any Ideas how I can revoke all previous writes back to the installation point or if this is possible? Unfortunately I have no explicit snapshot.

Source Link

/home "cleaned" during ubuntu 12.10 installation on btrfs

I had a seperate btrfs partition for my home directory in my old ubuntu instalation. I "upgraded" the installation by installing a clean system on my ext4 partition which got formatted and mounted as /. As /home I've just reused the old partition without formatting it (it worked out on another machine the same way before, the only different thing is, that I've picked the same username).

Now I ended up with a clean home directory without any of the old files (I have backups, but maybe not all of the files). If I execute df I get:

Filesystem     1K-Blocks  Used     Available   Used%  Mountpoint
/dev/sdb6      386623488 169526740 202649500   46%    /home

Any Ideas how I can revoke all previous writes back to the installation point or if this is possible? Unfortunately I have no explicit snapshot.