Skip to main content
5 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Apr 28, 2010 at 1:19 vote accept Margaret
Oct 5, 2009 at 23:54 comment added William Hilsum Next time it happens, check blue screen view - nirsoft.net/utils/blue_screen_view.html If nothing is there, I would go again and say power - it could be the PSU.... Try to do a stress test and max the cpu to 100% for about 10-20 minutes and see if it crashes. Obviously you can also cross your fingers that it was something simple such as someone accidentally restarting or cleaner touched the plug!...
Oct 5, 2009 at 23:53 comment added William Hilsum Argh. Don't you just love working with computers!. Well, I suppose it could be a problem with the UPS? I don't suppose you have monitoring for them just to rule this out? Typically, I find that a freeze is driver/hardware, a BSOD/restart can be the same or misconfiguration where as a restart without a log is nearly always power related. I would suggest you set what I said above and possibly also check that you are creating a kernel dump.
Oct 5, 2009 at 23:26 comment added Margaret I probably should have mentioned that the computer is the only machine in the room on a UPS - and the only one that fell over. The rest of them were chugging along just fine. ...Just to add to the total head-scratcher of it.
Oct 5, 2009 at 23:23 history answered William Hilsum CC BY-SA 2.5