Skip to main content
6 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Aug 11, 2014 at 16:57 comment added barlop @MarkS to double check, have you tried with linux e.g. a linux usb bootable? you'd get the bios unrecognized battery.. but do you also get the light lit temporarily? I suppose the problem -with both symptoms- would be with ubuntu too.. and would just confirm what you said that it's hardware. "sunny" posted a comment as a question, now removed, asking if the same problem occurred with linux.
Sep 17, 2013 at 13:22 comment added Fauxcuss @Bob, that's basically what I've come to the conclusion of myself in my case. Thank you DELL for building in this hardware feature and then making the female socket for the power adapter inferior. Dell should fix this for free, IMO. It's only the most critical function of the laptop... to be able to charge the battery.
Sep 16, 2013 at 4:09 comment added Bob Sometimes, the power port gets damaged such that sensing doesn't work. It's a known issue with Dell machines.
Apr 18, 2013 at 14:36 comment added Fauxcuss It's not a software problem because you can boot into the BIOS and see it there. I've upgraded the BIOS to the latest, thinking it would resolve the issue, but the latest BIOS software (A09 I think), does the same thing. While on my friends computer, my adapter and the new one I bought both work fine. Apparently the sockets for these DELL motherboards are notorious for going bad or breaking solder joints and being difficult to replace. Thanks for the suggestion though.
Dec 3, 2012 at 1:51 history edited Fauxcuss CC BY-SA 3.0
Added an update to share what else I've learned about the problem.
Dec 1, 2012 at 18:05 history answered Fauxcuss CC BY-SA 3.0