Skip to main content
added 3 characters in body
Source Link
Rob Kam
  • 1.9k
  • 3
  • 20
  • 29

I had Windows XP and Ubuntu both installed. I could easily boot into either until Windows "fixed" the bootloader so that it now only boots into Windows.

I guess there is no way to prevent Windows from doing this. So instead when it happens how do I quickly restore the GRUB bootloader?

Also while I'm here: How do I edit the GRUB menu, to hide options I don't want and to change the default boot OS?

I had Windows and Ubuntu both installed. I could easily boot into either until Windows "fixed" the bootloader so that it now only boots into Windows.

I guess there is no way to prevent Windows from doing this. So instead when it happens how do I quickly restore the GRUB bootloader?

Also while I'm here: How do I edit the GRUB menu, to hide options I don't want and to change the default boot OS?

I had Windows XP and Ubuntu both installed. I could easily boot into either until Windows "fixed" the bootloader so that it now only boots into Windows.

I guess there is no way to prevent Windows from doing this. So instead when it happens how do I quickly restore the GRUB bootloader?

Also while I'm here: How do I edit the GRUB menu, to hide options I don't want and to change the default boot OS?

Source Link
Rob Kam
  • 1.9k
  • 3
  • 20
  • 29

How to fix GRUB after Windows breaks it, and how to edit the GRUB menu

I had Windows and Ubuntu both installed. I could easily boot into either until Windows "fixed" the bootloader so that it now only boots into Windows.

I guess there is no way to prevent Windows from doing this. So instead when it happens how do I quickly restore the GRUB bootloader?

Also while I'm here: How do I edit the GRUB menu, to hide options I don't want and to change the default boot OS?